Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

Hi! So, as promised, I’ve got more to share! Hurray! I don’t really know where to start, so maybe I’ll just begin with the sketch.  Delightful Inspiration posted this sketch to be used for layouts for the July challenge:

JULY LAYOUT SKETCH ASC #34

I loved the gridded photo collage – I have a hard time doing layouts that don’t include lots of pictures, so when there’s a sketch that works for lots of pictures, I’m instantly drawn to it!

It just so happens that I had gotten 7 really amazing pictures (for me) of the Jesse White Tumblers during the Fourth of July parade (it goes right by my mother-in-law’s house in Glenview.) The sketch has 6 pictures which works really well for a grid. I wanted to come up with a way to use the 7 pictures. This is what I ended up with:

I really love parades and fireworks and getting together with family! And the Jesse White Tumblers are like the icing on the Fourth of July cake!

I really love parades and fireworks and getting together with family! And the Jesse White Tumblers are like the icing on the Fourth of July cake!

I went with the gridded nature of the sketch and placement of some stars and the title, but incorporated the flag into the whole dealy! As I was laying the pictures on top of the stripes I was realizing that I could cover parts of the photos and weave the photos through the stripes. Then I realized that I could write some journaling/captions on the stripes, which is great because you can tell how much I love to write :-D!

Details of the sparkly stars

The awesome supplies I used are: Cardstock from Bazzill, Recollections and Paper Studio; Patterned Paper, marker and cork stars from Close to My Heart; Cut files from Silhouette (Studio Ilustrado); Wood Veneer from Studio Calico; Sprays from Smooch and Studio Calico; Stickles;  Fonts : American Purpose Casual 01, CK Shiver (edited to make it more full), CK Tipsy; Adhesive from Scotch and Xyron.

I will be entering the following challenges with this LO:

Artful Delight Delightful Inspiration: July Layout Sketch ASC #34 http://artfuldelight.blogspot.com/

About a Boy Scrapbook Challenges: July 1 Challenge – Red, White and Blue http://itsabouttheboys.blogspot.com/2013/07/july-1-challenge-red-white-and-blue.html

S.W.A.T. Challenge – Red, White and Blue http://swatscrapwarriorsadvancedtraining.blogspot.com/2013/06/red-white-blue-blog-hop.html

(Edited 8/3/13 to add: Yippeee! I won the SWAT Blog Hop Challenge! Now I’ll be stalking the mailman for this box of fun:)

Scrap Our Stash Challenge – Red, White and Blue (I used wood veneer stars as well as cork stars) http://scrapourstash.blogspot.com/2013/07/stash-challenge-5-red-white-and-blue.html

Colorful Creations Anything Goes July Challenge http://colorfulcreations.ning.com/events/anything-goes-3

And this will be entered into the DuPage County Fair for Scrapbook Page – Holiday

(Edited to add – a bit belated, but I wanted to wait until all the contests were done – I won a 1st place ribbon at the fair for this LO! Yippee!)

I really loved documenting this amazing moment! I’m so glad I got it scrapped and it was pretty much entirely for my own enjoyment! Thanks so much for stopping by!

Please leave some kind words in the comment section if you have a moment! I’d love to hear what you thought and how you came to visit my blog today!

ETA: Well, this is a well-loved layout and fits the theme, so I’m glad to be able to add my project to the Paper Issues New Issue: Hooray for the Red, White and Blue with Therm O Web linky party!

ETA: Yippeee! My project was shared on Fan Feature Friday at Paper Issues! Those Paper Issues peeps are the best!

PI_Fanfeature-sidebar

Comments on: "Hurray for the Red, White and Blue (and for lots of challenges)!" (35)

  1. Love love love this layout! Great job on the sketch and I love the wavy journaling. Thanks for joining us at Artful Delights this month 🙂

  2. this turned out awesome!

  3. Love your journalling strips! Glad you joined us over at About A Boy!

  4. very cute! Love the “flag”. Glad I’m not the only one excited to scrap something recent, LOL!

  5. Love the flag theme and all that journaling!

  6. Oh wow!! what a great layout!! Awesome!

  7. Absolutely love how you did the journaling. such a great idea.
    Looks like we entered all the same challenges. Good Luck

  8. OMG, what a fantastic and original way to journal on your page. Love your design and well done for getting in so many photo’s. Thanks for playing along with us Scrap Our Stash. xx

  9. Really great layout! I too love the journaling that way. So glad you played along with us at About A boy!

  10. Dawn P. said:

    Wow Ruth love it. Great idea the way you journaled. and thought to turn this into a flag. Glad you got pictures of the tumblers. 🙂

  11. Love your take on the sketch and the multi photos! Thanks for joining us at Artful Delight!

  12. Took my entries to the fair today. My heart just about skipped a beat because the display sign for this category said “Christmas” whereas the booklet with the categories and the tag I was given said “Holiday”. Felt better that there was a Halloween LO there, but checked with the awesome volunteers and they changed the sign to correctly say “Holiday”! Shew!

    Thanks for all the sweet comments on my blog! They make my heart very happy and strong enough to take a shock like what happened with the sign ;-)!

    • The drama is over. This LO got a blue ribbon. I was a little bit nervous about going and checking to see how I did, but pleased with this result. Some of my other LOs didn’t do as well. I’m just glad that this one did well since it is my favorite!
      Thanks for all the support and kindness and for taking the time to look!

  13. I love how you added the wavy flag to the grid sketch! Thanks for joining us at About a Boy

  14. Joefil E. Cate said:

    Fun page! Love it! Thank you for playing along in our Red,White, and Blue challenge at Scrap our Stash!

  15. I love how you did your journaling! The layout looks fantastic! Thanks for playing along at SOS!

  16. awesome page love what you did with the journaling! Thanks for joining us at AAB!

  17. Fantastc job with the red/white/blue challenges! Love the grid placement and large flag! Thanks for playing along with us at Scrap Our Stash and About A Boy! 🙂

  18. Great page! LOVE the flag design you created w/your grid! Thanks for playing along w/the SWAT red, white and blue challenge!

  19. Raechelle Bellus said:

    LOVE your journaling strips and overall feel to this! Such a fantastic job combining all the challenges onto this super layout!

  20. oh wow! First, yousaif Jess White Tumblers, I knew Chicago! (My former home). LOVE the incredible way you created a flag out of your LO. Spectacular! Thanks for jumping in the Red, White and Blue challenge at About a Boy

  21. Super cool layout! Love the journaling, super creative idea. Thanks for playing along with us at SWAT!..xoxox

  22. Very cool! I love the stripes and journaling! So much detail to look at! Thanks for playing with us at Scrap Our Stash!

  23. Wow, really nice. Thanks for playing along with us at AAB!

  24. Oh wow amazing LO!!!! LOVE how it looks like a flag with the journaling. Thank you for playing along with Artful Delight this month!!

  25. That is so amazing! I love the journaling waves! Thanks for playing along with us at Scrap Our Stash.

  26. by belle said:

    I just love your unique journaling!! Thanks for linking up at SWAT!

  27. awesome layout! Thanks for playing along with us at AAB!

  28. love that you made your photo grid into a flag!!! Thanks for linking up with SWAT.

  29. I love that journaling style! Thanks for playing along with us at ABB!

  30. Venetia Holbrook said:

    This is beautiful! I love your use of the flag!

  31. lanette said:

    I love what you did with all the journaling this LO is beautiful! Thank you so much for playing along with us at S.W.A.T!

  32. How creative!! I love your design! Fabulous! Thanks for playing along with SOS!
    e.

  33. I am totally in love with your flag design! I love the wavy journaling strips. Genius!! Thanks for playing along with us at SWAT!

  34. This looks amazing Ruth!!! I love how you did your journaling strips. 🙂
    – April

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

