Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

Speed is not something that I strive for normally in my crafting. Care, detail, thoughtfulness, design those are the things that matter most to me when I create. However, there are definitely lessons that can be learned through stretching from one’s comfort zone and trying new things, so I tried the 10 Minute Craft Dash! Motivation is important, so I have to say that the possibility of a prize was the main reason why I had much interest, but in the end I’m glad I tried and I definitely learned a few things:

  1. Textured cardstock is not a good stamping surface if you want to use finely detailed stamps that you want to retain their detail
  2. Stamping is generally not a good speed crafting technique. Too many ways to mess things up and I seemed to have found them
  3. It’s better to do something quickly than to put if off because I “don’t have the time”! Who doesn’t have 10 minutes to spare

Now, along with the 10 Minute Craft Dash you know there needed to be a sketch for inspiration. It just really helps to keep things headed in the right direction crafting-wise. I found that Seize the Sketch had a great one this week and I thought I could make it work for me:

Seize the Sketch is a new challenge blog. Don't you love this sketch?

Seize the Sketch is a new challenge blog. Isn’t this a great start?

Along with the other two challenges, Seize the Birthday has a challenge to create a birthday card, as does Scrappin-n-Chattin Yahoo! group and Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge was monochromatic, so my card was born. It was OK to get supplies ready before starting the clock, so here’s my set-up. Stamps mounted on blocks, sketch in my head, post-it for masking, ink pad and embellishments nearby along with tools and adhesive:

Yes, my craft area is crowded with lots of different supplies...

Yes, my craft area is crowded with lots of different supplies…

And yes, I do make cards in colors other than yellow and black, it’s just that recently I’ve done a couple yellow and black ones (the stamp set gave me the inspiration for the main color for this card:)

Hey, it's done (and with 7 seconds to spare!)

Hey, it’s done (and with 7 seconds to spare!)

I’ve had this awesome stamp set for quite a while now, but am in denial that I should make cards for belated birthdays. Who am I kidding? Very few birthday cards I give are on time! I should make a whole drawer of these – let’s see in two hours I could have 12 made! Or maybe the next time I should make 12 regular birthday cards and keep them “in stock” so I’m ready! To be honest, it’s not the making of the cards that is challenging it’s getting them into the mail…Sorry everyone who I owe a card. Maybe you’ll be getting one of these very soon!

Challenges entered (in alpha order):

10 Minute Craft Dash Birthday Bash

Scrappin-n-Chattin Birthday card

Seize the Birthday

Seize the Sketch #1

Simon Says…Monochromatic

Crafty supplies:

Card base – DCWV, Stamps – The Craft’s Meow, Ink – Tsukineko, Sequins – Hero Arts, Smooch top coat, Glue Dots adhesive.

Thanks so much for stopping by! I’d love to hear if you have any advice for how to craft fast or if you just want to tell me that you love the color yellow, too!

Ruth

Comments on: "Dashing through the crafting?" (21)

  1. What an adorable card. Great color combo with the bees and sentiment. Thanks for joining us at Seize The Birthday.

    • JoAnn,

      Thanks so much for coming by and leaving such a sweet comment for my card! I’m so glad to have gotten this birthday card done (it’s a month late and I still have the one from last year to send out, too! So very bad about getting things into the mail!)
      Thanks for all you do at Seize the Birthday! I just love that name and mostly make birthday cards, so it’s fun to join in!
      Have a fantastic day!
      Ruth

  2. This is great – love the contrast colours.
    Thanks for joining in the birthday celebrations with us at the 10 Minute Craft Dash.
    Hugs,
    Caryn xxx

    • Caryn,
      Thanks so much for coming by and leaving such a kind and thoughtful comment for my card! I thought the yellow was appropriate with the bee theme and felt that the black would really show off the details nicely. I really had a lot of fun dashing and might even try it again sometime! Thanks for all you do! Have a wonderful day!
      Ruth

  3. Very cool! I love that punny sentiment!
    Thanks so much for playing along with the 10 Minute Craft Dash!

    • Thanks, Leigh! I really love the pun, too, so I think it was hard for me to resist trying to use this set for the challenge. I really learned a lot, and that’s a good thing! Thanks so much for all you do!
      Have a fabulous day!
      Ruth

  4. Love that sentiment too!!! Great job with your photos of supplies…what a great idea! Thanks for linking this up with the Seize the Birthday team!

    • Thanks so much, Nancy, for coming by and leaving such kind and thoughtful comments! I do love the stamp set, which I think is part of the reason why I felt compelled to use it for this card – I can’t resist the puns!
      I hope you have a wonderful day!
      Ruth

  5. Cool card! Ii think a 10 minute card challenge would be fun! Especially for those mornings that I have nothing to blog yet! 😉

    • Kathy, you are so right about getting it done! I think next time I’ll try and use more pre-made stuff, but it was great to get to use this stamp set and it’s not the worst card I’ve ever created, LOL!
      Have a great day!
      Ruth

  6. Thanks for giving the 10 Minute Craft Dash a try – nice to have you! Gorgeous card!

    • Thanks, Rachel! I learned so much by doing “the dash”, I’m so glad I found it and gave it a try! Thank you very much for visiting and leaving such a kind and thoughtful comment! It means a lot to me!
      I hope you have a wonderful day!

      Ruth

  7. Wow! That is a lot of challenges for one card…such a cute one at that! Love those little bees and all those hexagons form a perfect beehive for your bees.

    • Thanks so much, Cathy, for visiting and leaving such sweet comments! I really get so inspired by the challenges, it helps to drive my projects!
      I hope you have a lovely week!

      Ruth

  8. awesome job…love your card! love all the hexies!
    Thanks for joining us at Seize the Sketch!

  9. Oh what a fun monochromatic card, Ruth! Love your touches of white and the sequins, too! Thanks for playing along with us at the Simon Says Wednesday challenge!

    • Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving such a nice comment for my “dashed out” monochromatic card. I really appreciate you taking the time to make my day brighter!
      I hope you have a really lovely day!

      Ruth

  10. Sheri Gilson said:

    Super cute! Love your take on the sketch! Thanks so much for playing along with Seize the Birthday!

  11. […] CHALLENGES: 1) September Card Challenge – Favorites Category. I was looking at the sketch at Seize the Sketch Challenge #1 and saw bee-lated birthday card that was entered into the challenge. So my inspiration came from the sketch and Ruth’s card at Paper and Musings. […]

  12. Just wanted to say “thanks” as your card inspired my card. I needed a late birthday card and yours was perfect! Thanks again.
    http://dunnitagaindesigns.wordpress.com/2013/08/31/happy-bee-lated-birthday/

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

