Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

School Daze

Maybe I’m not actually dazed, but I feel like I’ve been just non-stop day and night busy since school began last Wednesday for Alex. He was really not looking forward to his first day of school. He goes to a small school (only 40 kids in his grade) and there are kids that he feels tormented by that he was not wanting to have to be with again. Well, as it turns out the ring leader is now going to a different school so Alex had a very nice first day! I was so happy for him and was even happier when he let me catch his joy in a picture!

Now this layout is going to be entered into a couple of different challenges, but I just wanted to get the picture up and the link for the challenge that ends tonight listed and will hopefully get a better picture in the daylight, along with some detail pictures and a more detailed write-up!

So the About a Boy Challenge blog is something that I’ve enjoyed participating in before and when they wanted a school-aged picture to be featured, I knew just the boy I wanted to feature and later just the story to tell! So here he is in all his “yes, I survived and even thrived on my first day of 7th grade” glory!

aftermath-LO_web

I will be posting later with what I used to create this LO and the other challenges I am entering, but for now, it’s about a boy!

Thanks so much for visiting! I love to hear your comments!

Ruth

Edited to add: Another school themed challenge was at Cameo Creations Challenge – Yippeee! As I was choosing materials for my layout, I had the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge: Dotty running through my head and wondered what I could do for that challenge, so I used a background paper with open circles, stamped dots on my green cardstock, used dot-embossed letters and used dotted lines for my journaling! Getting dotty was so much fun – loves me some dots! Another challenge I wanted to participate in was the numbers challenge at the Silhouette Blog. That was really easy what with the school theme and the fact that it was 7th grade (so you’ll notice the yellow number background, the ruler that was numbered using a Silhouette Sketch Pen and then the outline cut out with the Silhouette and of course the 7th grade element.) Easier than 1+1! Another challenge I was thinking about while I was designing was the Lots of Layers challenge at the Scrappin-n-Chattin Yahoo! Group I’m in. I used 4 layers under my photo – the green, the red, the cork and the yellow. What a nice effect all the different layers give, don’t you think?

The supplies I used are: Bazzill and Stampin’ Up! cardstock, We R Memory Keepers patterned paper, Close to My Heart letter stickers, corrugated shapes and stamp, Bic Mark-It pen, Zig pen and adhesive as well as American Crafts adhesive, Silhouette Cameo digital die cut machine with files from: Kerri Bradford (numbers background, ruler and Time for School), Lori Whitlock (7th grade) and SVGCuts (notebook page and clock).

Thanks again for putting up with revisions for this post! I think I might add the other pictures I’d like to include, but for now this is it!

Comments on: "School Daze" (7)

  1. dannisdreams said:

    So happy to hear that he had a good first day of school! hope the rest of the year is just as good!!
    Wonderful layout!! I just love your style!

  2. Great layout and love all the embellies you used. So glad Alex had a good first day is enjoying school this year.

  3. Wonderfully done, great take on the challenge. thanks for joining us at AAB!

  4. What a great layout! I love it! Thanks for playing along at About A Boy!

  5. That’s really great. i love all the layering. Thanks for playing along again at About a Boy

  6. Great layout! I love it for the first day of school photo.

  7. What a fun back to school layout! So much fun! Thank you so much for joining us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. Hugs, Sandra

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

