Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

Yep, even scrapbook layouts about adults dressing up like movie characters and drinking renamed drinks and signing a bowling pin before going to watch the movie together! OK, so maybe I’m getting ahead of myself here, but Anything Goes should be a great opportunity for anyone able to cut SVG files to participate! I sure hope you can and will!!! The rules for the challenge are found here :  http://creativecuttingchallenge.blogspot.com/p/challenge-rules.html just so you know whether to start knitting a scarf or scrapping a nit-picky person! 😉

Lots of excitement for me this month! Where to start with my project…as a design team member (woohoo!) for The Creative Cutting Challenge, because it’s Anything Goes, I got to choose which files from The Creative Pointe I wanted to use for my first challenge project! I picked the bowling set because I knew I could have fun with photos that have a bowling theme that needed some scrapping!

Next, I also was asked to be a Guest Designer over at Sketches4All this month, which can I just say was such a shock and an honor! Part of the responsibilities were to come up with a challenge – so much fun! So I started looking into what photos I had and decided what photos were easiest to get a hold of but might be the hardest to scrap for a challenge and tried to find a sketch to use for my challenge.  I found this awesome PageMaps sketch :

This is from June of 2012 and it is for a double 8 1/2 x 11 layout

This PageMap is from June of 2012 and it is for a double 8 1/2 x 11 layout

In this sketch what I saw was lots of places for small photos and icons and elements plus a continuous strip, much like a bowling lane, which would also be a good place to put a long border. Perfect! The bowling SVG set from The Creative Pointe has two different borders to choose from and you all know how much I like having choices! I also figured it would be fun to include some other bowling images on my LO and this set has quite a few different ones to choose from!

So I was off, setting out to create this LO! I had a sketch, I had cut files I was going to use, I had a subject and so the fun continued! I tweaked the sketch to fit my photos and scrapping style (12×12.)

So here it is, from Design Team member, Guest Designer and challenge participant (I guess I need to tell you about that later), my layout:

Ta-da! I bet you thought I was never going to show it to you!

Ta-da! I bet you thought I was never going to show it to you!

Let’s just dive right into the detail shots, shall we? 

Abide_Left_picdetail_web

I’m so grateful to Gwen from Team Alex Abby for getting some group pictures with my husband, Scott, in them! He took many pictures, but didn’t have any with him! Thanks so much, Gwen! Dina and Lee dressed for the occasion!

Abide_Left_full_web

The left side in all it’s glory!

Abide_Left_journal_web

Close-up of the awesome bowling pin border. You can read the writing on the pins in this shot, to be continued…

The bowler cut out of "the rug that tied the room together" from the movie, the logo that a friend of my hubby's created for him and few do-dads.

The bowler cut out of “the rug that tied the room together” from the movie, also note the logo that a fellow cacher created for my hubby and a few do-dads.

This is a graphic my hubby posted for the event, the caching symbol for events is a word bubble - fun, huh?

This is a graphic my hubby posted for the event. I added the caching symbol for events which is a word bubble – fun, huh?

Doesn't that border look awesome lined up on my bowling lane?

Doesn’t that border look awesome lined up on my bowling lane?

You should be able to read the rest of the journaling in this picture!

You should be able to read the rest of the journaling in this picture! Geocachers use a lot of abreviations so I thought adding Thanks For The Event to the last pin would be a fun touch!

So are you familiar with The Big Lebowski? Have you ever done any geocaching? The event is over, but I’ll put a link here if you want to check out the page : Abide: A Flash Mob you will need to have an account with geocaching.com to see it. It’s free and geocachers are generally a very nice group of people who enjoy exploring the outdoors. They do have events, though, and those might be indoors, such as the movie. The community reminds me of crafting bloggers – everyone is pretty positive about what others are doing and it’s good to find something nice to say about a cache that someone else hid or an event that someone else put together, but generally I think they are having fun so it’s an easy thing to do, just like commenting on the fabulous projects that everyone does in the crafting world!

I have entered this LO into the August 23 Die Cut Challenge~ Use a Border! NO punches! at Stuck on U Sketches

What did I use?

We’ve got the cut files from The Creative Pointe that I cut with my Silhouette Cameo

I printed all the pattern papers on Premier Art Matte Scrapbook Photo Paper for Epson (I used in my HP Photosmart B8550 printer – it is a wide-format printer so it will print 12×12  🙂 These turned out looking amazing, but cutting those papers may have created some problems with my die cut machine, so I’m probably not going to use it in my Cameo again.

The digital designs from The Daily Digi : The Story of Everyday Life with elements and papers designed by these artists (who sadly I don’t have full names for): awolff, creashens, GMiller, joycepaul and Khartley. I also used the Woodsong woodgrain paper from Deena Rutter.

Cork sticker paper from DCWV, Wood veneer elements from Studio Calico, CTMH alpha stickers and stamp, Bic Mark-it marker (did you know they are acid free and permanent?), Zig Ball pen, Silhouette sketch pen, adhesive from American crafts and Zig, circle punch from EK Success and Crop-a-dile II, font Baltar.

I think that just about wraps it up. (Finally, you all sigh) Well, if you made it this far and still have something you’d like to say, I’d love to hear it! Thanks so much for stopping by and taking a peek! I sure hope that you’ll take part in the Creative Cutting Challenge if you’re able to! I’d love to see your creations!

Ruth, the rambling writer

(Edited to add) I won this for this layout – whoohoo! SOUS-top3

Comments on: "Anything Goes over at Creative Cutting Challenge" (11)

  1. Fabulous layout and all the elements in it are just awesome! You put so much thought into telling the story and it was great to be able to see all of it with your wonderful photos. Great first DT project!!!

  2. Love your scrapbook pages using the Bowling Pin set. Great job!

    Carolyn

  3. Great page!
    Tavia

  4. dannisdreams said:

    A fabulous layout!! When I look at that sketch I just go ACK but you pull it all together so fabulously!!

  5. Great bowling layout!
    ♥ Pam

  6. Gorgeous layout and such fun inspiration! SO happy to have you as a GDT at Sketch4all this month!! hugs, Stacy H-W

  7. LOVE your post, Ruth!! One of my favorite movies, BTW. I just realized that red, white and blue picture was Jeff Bridges. LOL

  8. Fun layout and great pictures!

  9. Great job on the layouts.

  10. Yay! Your first design team page and how fun it is! I love cut files and look forward to seeing the creative ways you use them! 🙂

  11. Fun layout, Ruth! I’m so glad you linked your blog up to the Moxie Fab World Blogroll. It will be great to stop by and say “hello” from time to time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

