Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

Traditions are priceless!

Am I the only one who wonders how traditions get started? I’m talking about ones that are invented out of seemingly thin air. My post today is about our family’s traditions. One I have no idea how it got started, it’s really a very silly and fun tradition. The other I know exactly how it came to be.

I’m using older pictures taken with a not-so-amazing camera, but I loved these two pictures of my daughter illustrating our tradition and really wanted a great sketch to showcase them. I found just the one at My Scraps & More Sketches.

Sketch #45 at My Scraps and More Sketches

Sketch #45 at My Scraps and More Sketches

Here’s my LO:

TreeSkirtFull_web

I have an album dedicated to Christmas pictures and for each year I use a different Christmas collection because I love/have so many of them and I think it helps to make it more obvious when you move from year to year. I’d already started this year (2005) with the Bella Blvd Christmas Wishes collection, so I used that for my layout.

Here’s a detail picture:

TreeSkirtDetail_web

I had also worked on a page for the Scrappin-n-Chattin Yahoo! group . They have lots of challenges and this one was a 24 hour challenge. Another one of the members participating chose from three collections I wanted to work with and from three sketches that were available. The Christmas Wishes collection was chosen for me and so then this year and this sketch was chosen:

SnCSeptSketch2

I know I recognize the sketch from somewhere, but I can’t read where. I apologize to whoever created this sketch. It’s really great! (I think I’ll contact April, who hosted the challenge, to see where she got it and add that later!)

Here’s the LO I created with the same collection and this second sketch:

FlakeyFull_web

and some details: FlakeyDetailUL_web FlakeyDetailLR_web

(edited to add:) For my title, I used alphabet stamps in two different sizes and fonts as a fun way to celebrate this tradition! I love alphabet stamps and stamping words in general on my layouts to give them that extra “Ruth” touch (read: puns!) Thanks to Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge for the Say it With Stamps challenge!

Oddly enough, this layout ended up being about traditions, too! My grandmother had crocheted snowflakes for us to put on a small Christmas tree when the kids were little so we didn’t have to worry about them breaking any ornaments and hurting themselves or knocking a big tree over. Once the kids got older and we could have a full-sized tree with all the trimmings (probably still not many glass ornaments yet) we used the snowflakes as window decorations and the kids had a blast standing in our bay window and hanging the snowflakes. Isn’t it great that we can enjoy so many different and personal traditions?

Do you have a favorite Christmas tradition? Whenever anyone asks me, I have this “duh, I don’t know” kind of response, but once I start looking through photos (and scrapbook pages) then I remember “oh, yeah! We do have some wonderful traditions!”

I’m so very glad you stopped in today!

I hope you have a wonderful week! It’s Homecoming Week at my daughter’s school and she’s a freshman, so I’m not sure what to expect, but I’m hoping there’ll be lots of fun to capture with my camera and lots of stories to tell!

Ruth

What did I use, you ask?

Tree Skirt: Cardstock – Bazzill; Patterned Paper, sticker border, journaling cards, chipboard – Bella Blvd Christmas Wishes; trim – Petaloo; Pearls – DoodlebugDesign Inc; Pens – Sakura, Zig; Adhesive – 3M, American Crafts, Glue Arts, Zig
Flakey: Cardstock – Bazzill; Patterned Paper and phrase stickers – Bella Blvd Christmas Wishes; Felt Snowflakes – Stampin’ up!, Gems – Me & My Big Ideas; Stamps – American Crafts, Lawn Fawn; Ink – Tsukineko; Spray Mist – ClearnSnap; Pens – Sakura, Zig; Adhesive – American Crafts, Glue Dots, Zig
Comments on: "Traditions are priceless!" (4)

  1. Great layouts and fantastic traditions. So great you keep them going.
    We use to have a tradition when both my grandmothers were with us. On Christmas Eve, my maternal grandmother would make homemade vegetable soup and my paternal grandmother, made both tuna salad and pimento cheese sandwiches, some with white bread, some with white, others with one slice each. Then she would cut off all the crusts and cut into 4 little squares each. I tried to keep the tradition alive some after they were both gone, but now its just a memory.

  2. Gorgeous!

  3. Great work with Bella! 🙂

  4. michellezerull said:

    Beautiful layouts! And great use of words! Thank you for joining us this week for the Simon Says Stamp Monday challenge. ~Michelle

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

