Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

Hi! I’ve got a fun card to share with you today! The current challenge at Creative Cutting Challenge is to create a Halloween card. Not a lot of surprises here as to my process so I’ll just get right to it.

Meet Jack:

Isn't he a handsome fella?

Isn’t he a handsome fella?

I used patterned paper from Doodlebug, cardstock from Stampin’ Up!, Pebbles card base, Twinery Twine, Ranger Distress ink, adhesive from Glue Arts + Imaginesce (loved using the black foam squares for the hat) + Scotch (the squishy 3D foam squares were great on the pumpkin which I had rubbed the back with an embossing stylus to round out the paper.) I also used a Silhouette Sketch Pen to write my sentiment on the inside:

The font I used was Carnala - I thought it was fun!

The font I used was Carnala – I thought it was fun! What do you think?

Today, I’m going to do a little tutorial about how to work with SVGs from The Creative Pointe, such as the Jack O’Lantern Card, in Silhouette Designer Edition. Sound good?

To open the file, you’ll need to select the type of file as either SVG (*.svg) or all files (*.*) at the bottom of the Open file box so you can see the SVG file you want to open in the list. When you choose it will come in looking like this:

As you can see, even though the file has four different layers/elements to it, they all come in layered together and all the same color.

As you can see, even though the file has four different images in it, they all come in layered together and all the same color.

To get the images apart simply right click over the image and select Ungroup from the pop-up menu. Then your screen will look more like this:

You can see the boxes that tell you where the different parts are. Once you click anywhere off of the objects you can then select any one of them to do any editing you might want to do.

You can see the boxes that tell you where the different images are. Once you click anywhere off of the objects you can then select the top file for any editing you might want to do.

Next you’ll want to pull the different images off to the side so that you can see them. The card base is on the top, so it’s easy to start there:

Now you can see another layer that was hidden below.

Now you can see another image that was hidden below the card base.

Go ahead and select and move the next image off to the side:

Now you can see all four layers (the hat and Jack's face are separate images.)

Once you move Jack’s shadow you can see all four images (the hat and Jack’s face are separate images.)

I like to change the color of my images to make it easier for me when it comes time to cut. I changed the fill color to the color of paper I will be using when I cut the pieces out. Here’s how my images looked for my card:

The bluish color turned out odd when I photographed the screen, but it really was a purple from the fill color choices!

The bluish color turned out odd when I photographed the screen, but it really was a purple from the fill color choices!

Now I usually just use a blank page to copy and paste each image to cut, then I delete them from there when I’m done. You will have to go to the “cut style” window and select “cut” for each image (alternately I just experimented as I was writing up these steps – you can do that before you even ungroup and it’ll create a cut edge for all the images at once – a much quicker way to get it done!) You can also choose to save this (especially with the cut style created) in your library. I think I’ll save that for a tutorial another day, if you’re interested.

Thanks for tuning in!

Have a wonderful day! I hope you’re inspired to create some fun Halloween cards with SVG files!

I sure love to hear your comments about how Jack made you smile today!

Ruth

She must be entering some challenges, you say? You’re right!

Simon Says ,,,,,We’re Going Dotty !  (the card base – Jack’s paper is actually tiny stars!)

Scrappin-n-Chattin card challenges – Halloween card

Paper Issues – Halloween Hootenany

Comments on: "Here’s hoping you’ll smile like Jack!" (7)

  1. Love the papers you chose and how you rounded them….brilliant idea! The font was perfect and thanks for showing everyone how to use the file with a Silhouette.

  2. What a fantastic card and great tutorial. I so need to learn how to SVG files. This is beyond adorable and looks like so much fun to make.

  3. This is absolutely adorable! I just love it! Thanks so much for playing along with us over at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge!

  4. This is fantastic! I LOVE it! Cut files, dies….I’m addicted! 🙂

  5. Denise Luscan said:

    Jack definitely made me smile!! That is an awesome card and love that font, too!

  6. What a cute card! I’ve just gotten a Cameo and can’t wait to learn to use it for fun projects like this!

  7. […] you need information about how to use SVG files in Silhouette Designer Edition software, please see this post, where I do a tutorial of the […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

