Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

Picture this…

Say, you’re a scrapbooker, like me, and you have a story you really want to tell, but you don’t have any pictures to go along with it. It’s a recurring story, a story about traditions and you could wait until the next time the story happens and take pictures to use on your layout. Or you could be real with yourself and realize it’s not the type of thing that you normally take pictures of so don’t bother to wait. Well, that’s my story for this pictureless layout. I decided that any pictures might actually take away from the story. So then how do I make my page something that somebody will want to look at? Let’s take a look, shall we?

Could not resist photographing outside under my maple

Could not resist photographing outside under my maple

First up, we have die cuts. The Creative Cutting Challenge is hosting a new challenge – Thanksgiving. As a design team member, I really wanted to tell this Thanksgiving story and felt that the shapes in the Thanksgiving Set One would really go great with my story! My Silhouette Cameo and I had a great time cutting these images from patterned paper and cardstock.

ThanksgivingPilgrims_web

ThanksgivingTitle_web

ThanksgivingTurkey_web

Next, I chose the My Mind’s Eye Cut & Paste collection for my layout because I loved the rich colors that remind me of the colors of fall. Thankfully, My Mind’s Eye does a fabulous job with fun coordinating elements, so I used washi tape, brads, enamel dots and buttons from the collection to help add some interest and dimension, along with some Twinery twine and leaves from Michaels.

Here is a detail of my journaling:

ThanksgivingJournaling-deta

I hope you’ll find a way to celebrate Thanksgiving with an svg file and your cutting machine and play along with The Creative Cutting Challenge!

Just for fun, have you ever created a scrapbooking layout for a story without pictures? What did you do? I’d love to know or if I’ve inspired you I’d love to hear about the story you’re inspired to tell now!

Thanks for visiting! Be sure to comment so I know your first concern is making my day brighter ;-)! Hope you have a great day!

Ruth

Here are the challenges I’m entering:

Cut it Up Thanksgiving

Simon Says Stamp Anything Goes

Silhouette Challenges – Anything holiday

SilhouetteChallengesblinkie

Oh, yeah, along with all the previous supplies I mentioned I used:

Another fabulous PageMaps sketch from Becky Fleck that A Cherry On Top has a challenge for using:

ACOT#54

Close to My Heart: cardstock, ribbon, alpha stickers, marker, stamps and ink

Adhesive from: American Crafts, Glue Arts, Glue Dots, Imaginesce, Xyron and Zig

Comments on: "Picture this…" (15)

  1. Absolutely love this. The layout is wonderful and the details are fabulous. I love that you scrapped a tradition and not a specific picture. I have never thought to do that…..What a wonderful way to preserve your traditions. Thank you for the great inspiration. PS love the maple tree!

  2. What a great layout. You definitely don’t need pictures, the journaling tells a great story.
    I love the Thanksgiving title you cut, looks awesome. I’m going to remember this for a future layout of my own with no pictures.

  3. That is a cool layout and you did it with a picture, really not needed to tell the story.

  4. Fabulous layout! The title looks wonderful layered on all those leaves and you told a great story. Thank you so much for sharing with us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge blog!!

  5. Such a unique idea that works perfectly for Thanksgiving…after all scrapping really is all about memories…so why not just written memories? It’s a great layout!! Very thankful to have you on the Design Team!!

  6. What a wonderful page, Ruth! I really like your take on a pictureless layout. The die cuts are really neat as is your handwriting! Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays for memory making 🙂

  7. What a great idea. You really don’t have to scrap with pictures. Your papers and die cuts really help tell the story you started with the journaling. It turned out great!

    Thanks for joining us for our Cut it Up Thanksgiving Challenge!

    Evelyn
    http://mylittlecraftblog.wordpress.com

  8. Fabulous LO very creative.
    Thanks for linking up over at Silhouette Challenges

    Have a creative day.
    Nana
    ♥ My Crafting Channel ♥
    ♥ 2 Creative Chicks ♥
    ♥ Silhouette Challenges ♥

  9. Gorgeous! Love all the details/cut files! 🙂

  10. Awesome layout! LOVE all the elements that you have added! Great idea for the journaling!!! Thanks so much for joining us over at Cut It Up!!!

  11. Fabulous & Fun!
    Thank you for joining us at Cut It Up Challenges.
    Have a wonderful day,
    Migdalia
    ♥ Crafting With Creative M ♥
    ♥ 2 Creative Chicks Challenges ♥

  12. Fabulous layout! I love the layering and papers you used!

  13. Great way to do a layout without pictures! Awesome job. Thanks for joining us at silhouette challenges 🙂

  14. Awesome layout! Love those pilgrim die cuts (so soft in color and don’t detract from the great journalling!) PS your Thanksgiving sounds like a fun time! Thanks for the kind words on my card!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

