Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

Let it snow!

I love snow globes! There’s just something about how the little flakes swirl around. Whoever invented them is a genius because many times when it’s snowing I’ll look out my window and think “it looks just like a snow globe”! That’s just amazing and wonderful from my point of view!

The current challenge at The Creative Cutting Challenge is to create a Christmas card using SVG files and your favorite digital die cutting machine, so to give you an idea of what you can do I created this card:

Snowglobe_web

I used the snow globe design from The Creative Pointe:

Snow Globe PV

Supplies: DCWV and The Paper Studio for cardstock (I used shimmery ones – can you tell?) and My Mind’s Eye patterned paper. The stamps are from Close to My Heart and I used Tsukineko ink. The wood veneer star is from Studio Calico and it has a bit of Ranger Stickles on it. I used a Faber-Castell pen inside for part of the sentiment. Holding it all together is adhesive from Xyron and Zig.

This file is a shape and there are 8 shapes total in the file, but to create a shape card I had to do a little editing.

First I copied the globe base and glass and then welded them together. Then I made a second copy of my welded snowglobe base. The cuts for the glass and the base are glued on top of one of these welded bases. The other base serves as the back part of the card. I simply scored a line near the top and only put glue above that line and put the front of the card over it. Then the front will fold away from the inside. Here’s a picture of the inside (smeared stamping and all, LOL! I was too impatient to wait for that Tsukineko ink to dry!)

Snowglobe_sentiment_web

I sure hope you’ll have a chance to play along! I sent my card off for the Caring Hearts Card Drive. It’ll make it’s way to a nursing home resident who might not have many cards coming to them. I’m sure hoping it puts a smile on their face like so many snowglobes put a smile on mine!

Thanks so much for stopping by! Have a wonderful day! Be sure to comment below so you can make sure I’ll be smiling!

Ruth

P.S. Oh, yeah! I’m entering my card in the Anything Goes challenge over at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenges

Comments on: "Let it snow!" (5)

  1. I really like snow globes too, I have 4 sitting on my coffee table now for Christmas.
    I really like your card and how you put it together and everything.
    Great work and card.

  2. Beautiful card and how lovely that someone who needs a little Christmas cheer will be enjoying it!

  3. Ruth.. the snow globe is adorable.. great job

  4. This is such a cute card and even sweeter sentiment! 🙂

  5. This is ADORABLE! LOVING that tree!!! Thanks for the birthday wishes on my bloggy!! I appreciate it!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

