Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

It’s never to early to start thinking about this coming holiday that focuses on professing your love! That’s why the challenge at The Creative Cutting Challenge is Valentine’s Day! And I’m a little late with my layout. Sure my blog post is up when it’s supposed to be, but I decided to scrapbook an event from years ago when my daughter was in 1st grade. Since she’s a freshman in high school, you could say I’m late. But actually, I think that scrapping has it’s own time schedule and whenever you have the inspiration and the interest in scrapping is the right time to do it! I was inspired by this challenge, by my pictures and story and by the files from The Creative Pointe so the time was right! The Valentine’s set has lots of great images that I thought would be perfect for my layout. Take a look:

Valentine preview

I thought it’d be fun to play around with the images a little, so I used the word “love” in my title and used the hearts with the arrows to point out fun elements in the photos!

1stGradersValentinesParty_w

1stGradersValentinesPartyDe

What fun this was to make! I inked the edges of the hearts after I wrote the journaling and accented the arrow tips with Smooch Accent Ink. I also cut into the feather ends to give a bit more detail. I love how the hearts turned out!

I created the chalkboard element with a piece of patterned paper that had a chalkboard print on it, my Silhouette Cameo, the adjustable pen holder, Sakura Gelly Roll White pen and the School Script Dashed font! I think it really goes well with the theme and the colors on the layout.

I used this sketch from Studio Calico Sunday Sketch

SC sketch

I don’t know about you, but after all the work that goes into planning the parties for school, it’s definitely something to celebrate and remember! The heart glasses was the craft project that I set up for the kids: 50 hearts traced onto foam and cut out. Truly a labor of LOVE!

I sure hope you’ll scrap or create something with SVG files for Valentine’s Day that you’ll share over at The Creative Cutting Challenge! I can’t wait to see your project!

Thanks so much for stopping by! I appreciate you taking a moment to let me know what you hope to create for Valentine’s Day in the comments below! Have a fabulous day!

— Ruth

Other materials used: Patterned Paper from Creative Memories and Simple Stories; Letter stickers from Simple Stories; Sequins from Lawn Fawn and Whimsical Twist; Adhesive from Glue Dots, Imaginesce, Xyron and Zig.  
 

Entered into the: Silhouette Blog Valentine’s Challenge

                                   and the Scrappin-n-Chattin Yahoo! Group Chalkboard Challenge and 52 week challenge

Comments on: "Get ready for Valentine’s Day!" (5)

  1. Great layout, I really like your take on the sketch thats awesome work.

  2. Terrific cut files! Perfect for your lovely page! 🙂

  3. Such an awesome page and who cares if it took a while to make…the time was definitely right right NOW!! Love it all!!

  4. Beautiful work!!!

  5. Cute layout!

    Thank you immensely for your kind comments on my posts over at Scrapbook Express! Thank you for reading! -Laurel

    blog.scrapbookexpress.com

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

