Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

First Things First!

The newest challenge at The Creative Cutting Challenge is Anything Goes! This was such a fun one because it meant I got to go through all of the files that The Creative Pointe offers and then put a project together that would go whatever I wanted to use! I chose a school layout because it’s a goal of mine to keep plugging away on finishing up my daughter’s school album (K-8) and there haven’t been any school challenges. I just really loved the School Set II files!

School Set Two PV

These have lots of fabulous details and layers! I really felt they would be perfect for the early grade school pictures of my daughter so I dug up her 1st grade picture and went to work looking for a sketch. The Let’s Get Sketchy Sketch a thon Hop #2 had lots of great sketches and I really loved the one on Laura Whitaker‘s blog, designed by Brenshevia:

BH2LAURA

I loved the strips at the top and bottom and how the picture and central elements were layered. I flipped the top and bottom, but here’s what I created:

EDG1GFull

A+ for cuteness (and she always works hard, too)!

I had this first grader paper from Moxxie in my stash and felt I should really use it. The bright colors really went well with my daughter’s sweater and made choosing the colors for the die cuts pretty easy! I adore all the layers on these cuts! Just take a look at them:

EDG1GPencil

EDG1GTitle+People

EDG1GScissors

I used a woodgrain paper on the pencil and chalkboard die cuts and a silver paper on the scissors. (Laura’s twist included using something wooden on your layout and I love the look that the woodgrained paper gives to these cuts!) The title is three layers deep using CK Jessica for the font and doing offsets for the shadow layers. The chalkboard has four layers of cardstock and the pencil is three layers deep at the top yellow layer (I’ll be entering the Scrap Our Stash Stash A Thon Birthday Challenge #1 ~ Cake/Layering challenge.)

I hope you’ll join along with the Creative Cutting Anything Goes Challenge if you are able to cut non-Cricut files with your digital die cut machine!

Have a wonderful day!

Ruth

Supplies used:
Cardstock – Stampin’ Up!; Patterned Paper – Echo Park, HP, and Moxxie; Wood Veneer – Studio Calico; Washi Tape – from stash; Pen – Zig; Adhesive – Beacon, Xyron, Zig

Comments on: "First Things First!" (17)

  1. Cute, cute, cute! Fun cut files and an ADORABLE photo! 🙂

  2. scrappinvt said:

    Great page! Thanks for joining us @ LGS.

  3. tinacampbell said:

    Love this! Oh it is so cute, good rendition of the sketch (I may borrow the sketch). Glad to see you playing along with Scrap your Stash Stashathon too so am I

  4. Love this layout! Such a great color scheme…works perfectly with the subject (who is super cute!). Great job Mom!

  5. Wonderful page! Love the colors and cute photo. Thanks for hopping with us at LGS.

  6. Great take on the sketch, I love the bg paper and “potty people”. Thank you for playing along with our bloghop at LGS 🙂

    March 19, 2014 at 6:06 AM

  7. Cute page. Thanks for playing in the LGS blog hop

  8. Such a cute page! Thank you so much for playing along at LGS!

  9. love the page, great jounralling and cute embellies, Thanks for joining us at LGS!

  10. Joefil Cate said:

    Such a great page and adorable photo! Thank you for playing along in our Stash A Thon at Scrap our Stash!

  11. Super sweet page and love those dimples! Thanks for sharing your wonderful page with us at Scrap Our Stash. xx

  12. Cute layout and I especially love your journaling! Thanks for hopping with us at LGS!

  13. such a cute page! Thanks for playing along at Scrap Our Stash!

  14. Cute page. Thanks for joining in the LGS blog hop!

  15. Connie Hall said:

    Wonderful page. Thanks for joining us at the LGS Hop.

  16. Fantastic layer s and paper piecing of a great background. I love the journaling…so sweet and definitely worthy of the time you spent with the details. Thanks for playing along with the Stash A Thon at Scrap Our Stash!

  17. super cute and yes, first grade is a BIG DEAL! love all the details too and your handwriting is AWESOME!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

