Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

Easter Happiness!

It’s time for the Easter challenge at Creative Cutting Challenges and I’ve got my very first Easter layout to share with you today!

I really love the look of dyed eggs for Easter! They have the most beautiful colors and make me really feel nostalgic, so I thought that the Easter Headings file from The Creative Pointe would be a great place to start with two great choices for egg-themed designs.

ImageLooking at the pictures I had, I found this sketch from Studio Calico that worked perfectly:

SC_Sketch032314

Since I didn’t have any Easter paper and the sketch had a very clean look to it, I thought I’d go with white paper as my base and create some interest with stamping with Distress Stains. Here’s a look at my background supplies:

Background+stains+stamp

I will say that I used a very thin cardstock. I would definitely recommend a thicker cardstock (or watercolor paper) for the background if you’re using as much water as I did. I had quite a bit of warping of the paper. I just sponged the Distress Stain right from the bottle onto the stamp, using a similar color (red with yellow or yellow with green, etc.) After I stamped I spritzed with water (sometimes I spritzed the stamp after I had put the stain on and before stamping.) I glued three layers of the cardstock together when the stamped sheets were dry to try and flatten things out afterward, but there is still quite a bit of warping. I used the same stains to color pieces of the cardstock that I then cut for the title and the circles around the pages as well as the strip at the bottom.

Here’s my full layout:

DoubePage

Here are some closeups:

AlexsPage

 Here’s The Creative Pointe’s cut file (the Easter made out of eggs) and there’s that awkward “I think this is smiling” face again. I’m glad my son eventually figured out how to smile and have it look like he was happy:-D. When he saw this yesterday he said he thought he was making a shark face. I think that’s a pretty good description of how it looks!

ErinsPage

 And here’s the queen of great pictures! Doesn’t she look happy and cute! I only wish I could have included her fingertips which were all stained from the dyes!

ChickDetail

 I used the Distress Stains and a water brush to color my stamped and embossed chick. I love the way you can see the background stamping through the washi tape!

EasterDetail

 I couldn’t resist the punny title!

I hope you enjoyed my project today and will consider playing along with The Creative Cutting Challenge

Thanks for visiting! I’d love to hear about your favorite Easter tradition!

Ruth

 

Comments on: "Easter Happiness!" (3)

  1. Adorable! Love your background coloring…perfect for an Easter egg dying page!!! 🙂

  2. Awesome double page. I like how you did the background just like coloring Easter eggs

  3. Love how you made your own paper!! Such a sweet and special layout!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

