Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

Savannah Wildlife

Let me just start out by warning you this might not be the kind of wildlife you’re thinking about. I’m talking wild animals not party animals! And there are lots of reptile pictures, so if that bothers you, please be sure to not look too closely!

I’m sharing the layout from when we were headed out of the coast and back towards Atlanta during our visit to Georgia. We made a couple of stops along the way and one of them was at the Savannah National Wildlife Refuge. We had heard that there were alligators there and we thought it might be fun to see some of them in the wild, from our car, maybe with the windows rolled up – I’m not telling how little we wanted a close encounter with an alligator!

I had several good pictures and while I would have liked to have included more pictures, I really liked this sketch from Life.Paper.Scrapbook.

LPS April Sketch

Just a great sketch to work with. Here’s my layout!

Full

To help me with other parts of my layout there was a challenge at S.W.A.T. to use the letters from the word FLOWER for elements on your page. My FLOWER is:

F: faux stitching (to the left of the ribbon) (also First of April!)

L: layering

O: overlays (on the top and bottom photos)

W: Wildlife!

E: Enamel dots

R: Ribbon (dark green to the left of the journaling)

I must say that the design team’s inspirations were very helpful in coming up with these elements! O was the toughest, but luckily the Snap Life collection included some cool overlays that were actually best cut apart unless it was a scenic picture (which of course, I had both.)

Here are some details of my page:

You can see the overlay "wow" on the baby gator picture here

You can see the overlay “wow” on the baby gator picture here (and sadly where I put the adhesive)

I just love the cork alpha from Close to My Heart and you can see the faux stitching next to the ribbon

I just love the cork alpha from Close to My Heart and you can see the faux stitching next to the ribbon

Here are a few more pictures I would have liked to include. This guy was sunning himself on the opposite bank from us, probably about 60 feet away with water and an embankment between us – we were still happy to get the pictures from inside the car!

Gator sunning on opposite bank

And this was the sign near the pond where the baby was and a closeup of the baby:

Sign

Baby closeup

Thanks so much for stopping by today! I hope you enjoyed your visit! Have you ever had a close encounter with an alligator? Would you want to if you haven’t? Tell me about it (or why you think it’s pure genius that I used chevron paper – like an alligators back – on my layout!)

Ruth

Supplies used: Cardstock – Epson; Patterned Paper, Alpha, Stickers – Simple Stories; Cork Alpha – Close to My Heart; Digital paper and ribbon – Stampin’ Up!; Enamel Dots – Basic Grey; Pens – Sakura; Adhesive – Beacon, Xyron.

5/1/14  Edited to add:

I was chosen as a Top 3 at Life.Paper.Scrapbook! I’m so excited! So I get to put this here:

Thanks so much for the sketch inspiration and for choosing me as a Top 3! I feel very honored!!!

Comments on: "Savannah Wildlife" (7)

  1. I love your take on the sketch and the colors coordinate beautifully with the pictures! – Kristal

  2. What a great take on the sketch! Your pictures are awesome! Thank you so much fro playing along at LPS!

  3. by belle said:

    I love your journaling!!! I wish I could get myself to do more of it! Thanks for linking up at SWAT!

  4. What a great layout. Love your keep calm card! Great use of enamel dots. and I love the detailed journaling. You did a wonderful job!

  5. Another awesome page! We have turtles just like those here in NC! 🙂

  6. You have a great take on this month’s sketch and I love the way you have used the overlays on your photos! Thanks so much for playing along with us at LPS

    Cheers
    Ruth

  7. LOVE IT! Great W! Thank you so much for playing along with us here at S.W.A.T!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

