Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

Gotta Swim!

Hi! I’ve got another vacation layout for you today! Pools are required when we go on vacation because my boy loves to swim. Sadly, the chlorine does his eyes in way before he’s ready to stop swimming, but it’s really such a joy to see his smiling face when he gets to play in the water!

My page to celebrate his love of swimming has pictures I took with my cell phone. For indoor pictures, they weren’t too blurry – lighting was awesome in this pool! I still needed a sketch that would be fun for these smaller pictures and I really thought this one from the Creative Scrappers Birthday Bash would be perfect:

Creative Scrappers B-day Pool

I really liked the way the pictures bobbed up out of the strips and took the strips to be like waves. I also love that the journaling is incorporated into the design – something I consider important! Thanks for the great sketch Creative Scrappers!

Here’s what I created:

got pool full

If you’ve been following my layouts for this album, you’ll know that I’ve been using the Simple Stories Sn@p Life and Color Vibe lines for my layouts and I have to say, again, that I love what I was able to create. It worked really nicely also for a challenge at The Color Room to use this palette:

TheColorRoom#168

 

I focused on these colors for all the embellishments that I added, including the corrugated shapes, brads, stickers and twine (which I hope will qualify for the required “thread” – if not, I still love what it adds to my page.)

Here’s a closeup of the middle:
detail

You can see that Alex really has a blast in the water!

I also like to enter Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenges and since it’s Anything Goes this week, I’m glad this will be an entry for me! This will be my week #21 entry for the 52 week challenge in the Scrappin-n-Chattin Yahoo! group as well as Anything Goes for the May scrap challenges there.

I think that about wraps it up! Is there anything that’s a requirement when you go on vacation? Do you have to have a nice view from your room? Do you like to just go and find someplace to stay along the way? I’d love to hear your thoughts about your vacation “requirements” or what you think of my layout below. Thanks so much for stopping by! I hope you have a wonderful day!

Ruth

Supplies: Patterned Papers, brads, stickers – Simple Stories; Digital cutting machine – Silhouette Cameo; Cutting file – Snapdragon Snippets; Alpha and corrugated shapes – Close to My Heart; Twine – The Twinery; Adhesive – Glue Dots, Xyron and Zig.
Comments on: "Gotta Swim!" (7)

  1. I LOVE how you did this layout, the “waves” are fantastic.

  2. Stunning work!
    Thank you for playing with us at Heart and Soul!!!!

  3. Clever details to your layout and I love the dotted p/p:) Thanks for sharing!

  4. I really love the way you did your waves! Great colors and accents, too.

  5. What a fabulous layout, love how you used waves for your stripes and put the photos inside them.
    Thank you for joining us at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge.
    luv
    Debby

  6. Love it! Great way to use that sketch…water waves! Awesome! 🙂

  7. I love your ‘wave’ effect on this layout…fabulous! Thanks for playing with us over @ HeART & Soul 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

