Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

Scrapping Our Stash Blog Hop

Well, hello there! I’m so glad you stopped by! If you were hopping along with the Practical Scrappers “Scrapping Our Stash” Monthly Blog Hop, welcome to my blog! You should have come from Christine’s blog. If you weren’t hopping and you’d like to start the hop from the beginning or you’re just visiting me, welcome to you, too. Here’s the list of blogs that are participating:

Practical Scrappers http://practicalscrappers.blogspot.com

Audrey http://audreysreflection.blogspot.com/

Wendy C www.stampingrules.com

Erin http://girlpaperscissors.blogspot.com

Majken  http://chocoscrapaholic.blogspot.com/

Christine http://scrappingwithchristine.blogspot.com

Ruth  https://paperandmusings.wordpress.com/ <<<<<—- Can you see me waving “hi”?

Lee-Anne http://lee-annelovethejourney.blogspot.com

Bobbi http://vintagemusedesigns.blogspot.com/

Kerri http://kerrikr8tions.blogspot.com

Alison  http://alisondaydesigns.com/

Lisa http://www.snappinandscrappin.blogspot.com/

Cheryl http://patchesandscraps.blogspot.com

Laura http://scrapaddict4life.blogspot.com/

Deborah http://scrappinthelittlethings.blogspot.com/

Suzanna  http://lifestrivialities.typepad.com/

OK, so the idea of this blog hop is one that I love and embrace – scrapping our stash! I know I have a million and one papers, enamel dots and rolls of washi tape that just want a chance to play, so I try not to get all frothy at the mouth when CHA rolls around and drop everything I already have – I try and use it.

Today I’m sharing a layout I created quick and easy. It was quick because of using stash stuff I already had used and knew what would go with it, the easy part comes from using a sketch and keeping it clean and simple.

The sketch I chose is #241a from Pamela’s World of Scrap:

PWOS_Sketch-241a

Sadly, Pamela moved and hasn’t continued to blog and provide new sketches, but she has a library of some 200 sketches that are pretty awesome. She usually includes a single page as well as a double page for the sketch (which is something I really appreciate) as well as multiple pictures on each page (also something I love!) Thanks so much, Pamela, if you’re out there anywhere!

Enough chatter, on to the layout!

Christmas Treets

You can see that I have changed things to work for my photos. The large circle is not quite so large because I wanted to include 3 pictures of each of my kids instead of the three and two in the sketch.

TitleDet

The sketch also called for one banner piece and a circle in the upper left and I decided to use more banner pieces and to omit the circle there.

BannerDet

Something that helps to motivate my scrapping is challenges. I belong to a Yahoo! group (Scrappin-n-Chattin) that hosts challenges for the group every month and this layout will be used for the anything goes challenge (available every month) and the banner helps me to qualify for a challenge at Lasting Memories #196 – Bannerific (one of my favorite elements to use on a layout!)

7/2/14 Edited to add: Woohoo! Just found out I was chosen a top 3 for my layout at Lasting Memories! Thanks so much! I feel honored!

Lasting Memories 

With all the challenges that I enter (as well as online giveaways) my stash has grown far beyond my ability to use it all, that along with the fact that some things that I win just aren’t my style, leads me to want to share some of my cast-offs with you, if you’d like. All you have to do is tell me your secret for staying motivated and inspired in your crafting and I’ll enter you into the giveaway. If you don’t want to enter, leave a comment anyway and you can say you don’t want to be entered. I won’t judge!

July 1 Edited to Add: comments are now closed for the giveaway. I don’t want to discourage blog love or joining in the conversation about motivation and inspiration, though! Feel free to continue to add your thoughts below!

Also, entering the Anything Goes Challenge at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge blog.

 

I will announce the winner on Tuesday, July 1st and you’ll have 24 hours to respond to my e-mail before I draw again.

Thanks again for stopping by! To continue on the hop, be sure to head over to  Lee-Anne’s blog.

I hope you have a great day!

Ruth

Supplies I used for my layout:

Cardstock – Bazzill; Patterned Paper, alphas and stickers – Bella Blvd; Pearls – Doodlebug; Twine – The Twinery; Adhesive – American Crafts, ScrapPerfect, Xyron.

 

 

 

Comments on: "Practical Scrappers “Scrapping Our Stash” Monthly Blog Hop + giveaway" (21)

  1. Ruth – I love your layout – the photos are adorable and your title is just great!
    When I need motivation I usually go through my stash or my photos – if that doesn’t work I turn to the internet. Visiting blogs, galleries and youtube videos usually does the trick!

  2. Great layout.. love the circle pic as an embellie!

  3. This layout is adorable. I love your little banner. When I need motivation I look on the evil site…lol which is pinterest 🙂

  4. Great layout and clever. When I need motivation I print new photos and check new challenges.

  5. Really love the detail of how and why you altered the sketch. This is a great sketch! As always wonderful layout. I think sketches are what keep me motivated. When I see a sketch often I see my photos already in place…. then I just have to pick paper and start creating! You are so talented thanks for sharing the fruits of your labor!

  6. I stay motivated with pinterest and you tube – whenever I’m feeling the mojo wain I head over there to search for new ideas.

  7. tinacampbell said:

    Ruth this is such a cute layout 🙂 I love your rendition of the sketch this is a good sketch 🙂
    What keeps me motivated: Is the challenges that I do 🙂 and the monthly counterfeit kit challenge blog helps throughout the month on my paper choices for my scrapping that month. Love sketches too

  8. Doris Pick said:

    Sketches, sketches, sketches! They make the work go so much easier and faster, and keep me from getting overwhelmed by my stuff.

  9. I agree about sketches and this is a great one you used to scrap a lot of pics on the theme.
    I love seeing Christmas layouts anytime of the year.
    Sketches really motivate me too, I see a great sketch and i can’t wait to use it. I save all my favorites to use again when I can’t find anything new.

  10. Very cute layout. I like the JOY banner.
    Checking out blogs, deadlines and using up my stash keeps me motivated.
    slrdowney at hotmail dot com

  11. Patricia F. said:

    Such a fun Christmas layout! I love how many photos you got on there. I stay motivated by using sketches and pinning fun and inspiring layouts that I see on the web! floresfour@aol.com

  12. When I need motivation I look to sketches, Pinterest and fabulous blog post like yours! Thanks for the inspiration!

  13. Fantastic Banner! Great job with the sketch!
    Thanks for joining us at Lasting Memories

  14. Ruth, this layout is adorable! I really love how you fit so many photos on one layout!

  15. karenladd said:

    LOVE your clever little title and that JOY banner with the bakers twine! I am always looking for ways to combine patterned papers because that’s still something that intimidates me. Your fun page and photos reminds me of my kids when they were small…we always made Christmas treats every year!
    My motivation and inspiration is spurred by online blogs and challenges. Not only do they push me to try new techniques but they also often inspire me to pull out old stash and give them another look!

  16. I just love that grid design on your layout and the cute banner across the top. I scrap a lot of photos of my kids and an easy layout is what I am always looking for. What motivates me? Well, my 4 year old just loves to craft and is my biggest fan. Keeping my scrapbooks filled with photos of fun family time is my biggest joy!

  17. Cute layout. To stay motivated and inspired I chat on groups. I also look at everyone else’s creations to help me get inspired to create. I need to do much more of all of this in July. June was just to busy. 🙂 Thanks for the chance to win.

  18. Laura Sterckx said:

    What a fun and cute design! I love your photo’s. The colors and different patterns are so pretty together. Thank you so much for joining us at the Simon Says Wednesday Challenge Blog. 🙂

  19. Congratulations on being featured at Lasting Memories. Your layout is fabulous, and I do love “banner” titles!

  20. awesome layout! Love multi photo layouts, great job. congrats on being top 3 at lasting memories. thanks for playing along at lasting memories.

  21. Darling Bella papers!!!!! I love to use up my stash! Great page and idea! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

