Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

Celebrating Pier Relationships

OK, so the punster in me couldn’t resist another pun about Piers. My layout title was born out of a need for something snappy and possibly punny and now I’ve decided to do the same with my blog post. With apologies…

As many of you may know or remember, I’ve been working on my Spring Break album on and off. I needed something that would help me create a page for exploring the pier on Tybee Island. I had a number of photos that I loved and really wanted to include them all. Both my hubby and my daughter had taken pictures and shared them with me, so it’s really quite a collaboration of photographers!

I admit, I have a sketch dependency issue. I rely heavily on sketches to inspire me and help me figure out how to put my pages together. I recently found Scrapbook Generation and am enjoying their free online magazine (Create) as well as the sketches they create and share. I felt very inspired by this free sketch from Allison Davis in the August issue of Create:

Create08-2014byAllison

 

 

The banner strips reminded me of the decking of the pier and I felt that there was the opportunity to turn the large photo into a collage so that I could show 4 different pictures in that spot. I always like to see a spot for journaling and of course a few fun embellies!

Here’s what I came up with:

Pier Enjoyment

What I love is that even though there were three different photographers on three completely different types of devices, all the pictures work together (I’ll let you guess which ones were on my full-size point and shoot camera, which ones were taken with a cell phone and which one was taken with an iPod Touch.) Bright sunny day = best photos possible on all types of devices…

So the story is that I printed my “decking” pieces on my printer from a digital paper from Pixl Cafe (WoodgrainPapers-TMartin), just on regular cardstock, I cut them out with my Silhouette using Flag Borders (from Sweet Afton) adapted to work with the sketch sizes. Did I explain that the sketches from Scrapbook Generation come with sizes for all the major elements? Well, I should have because it makes it even quicker and easier to create a layout close to the sketch design without having to try and guess! I decided to use some twine for the stitched lines as well as a few other places. I thought it went nicely with the beach/pier theme.

PE_det_left

PE_det_right

 

Yep, there are a few wood veneer elements (Studio Calico), some brads and stickers (Simple Stories) along with the paper strips and the paper I used for the journaling strips (also Simple Stories). The “Pier” alphas are canvas letters from Little Yellow Bicycle – I think they went perfectly with my theme, too!

Thanks so much for stopping by! I love to read your comments and hope you’ll visit again soon!

I’ll be entering this layout into the Simon Says Stamp Anything Goes challenge for the Wednesday Challenge blog.

Have a super happy kind of day!

Ruth

ETA: Also linking this up with Paper Issues New Issue: It’s Hip to be Square – This layout has two square photos

Comments on: "Celebrating Pier Relationships" (4)

  1. A fabulous layout, a great design, beautiful photographs and lovely papers and detailing!!

    Thanks so much for joining Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge
    hugs
    Heather xx

  2. LOVE all the layers and details! 🙂 Great pics too!

  3. Barbara Greenberg said:

    I might have to “lift” this title too for when we go to Tybee Island in October. Awesome layout and pictures from all of you. 🙂

  4. tinacampbell said:

    Super cute layout, just love your rendition of the sketch 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

