Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

Happy Saturday and welcome to my blog! If you came here from Nicole’s blog, you are in the right place.  If you just stumbled upon this post and would like to start from the beginning, please visit the Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons blog.

Today the Design Team is sharing some wonderful made with love projects using Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons files. I love that Lisa has so many punny designs in the store – it fits right into my idea of fun!

Here’s the card I decided to make for my hubby for Valentine’s Day (he doesn’t usually visit my blog, that I know of, so hopefully I’m not ruining the surprise) I used the Safari Love Cutting Files (which has all kinds of cute wild animals and the wonderful sentiment) along with the A2 Card Bases 1 Cutting Files which I think is an elegant design for a Valentine’s card.

WAY_front

What a cutie pie, huh? I love the little lion and the sentiment is perfect for me! I love all the layers that Lisa incorporates into her designs. It makes it so easy to create dimension and it’s also so easy to assemble – all the layers just go one on top of the other!

Detail

Here you can see where I chose to add dimensional adhesive. I also folded the edges of the mane up to add some texture. The lion’s body was done with print and cut for the yellow parts and just cut for the black and brown parts. I also used my new Wink of Stella black glitter marker on the lion’s eyes and the Wink of Stella clear brush marker on the heart in the sentiment – I need some practice with that because it really came out thick and had to be dabbed off a bit. 

On the inside I created my sentiment by layering the two bottom layers of the lion image with my sentiment, ungrouping and editing the sentiment to be as wide as possible and then used the Divide command on the modify menu in Silhouette Studio. After I divided I had to delete the lines that were outside of the letters, change the fill colors and then do print and cut with cut settings set to cut edge. I like how it turned out and the pun makes me smile (hopefully, my hubby doesn’t groan;-)

WAY_inside

I hope you’ve enjoyed my project! There’s lots more goodness to come!

The blog candy for this hop is a $15 GC to the PPPR store. For a chance to win, you must be a follower of each blog and leave a comment on each blog. For extra chances, you can also “LIKE” Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons on Facebook  and/or sign up for the Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons Newsletter. A random winner will be chosen for the prize on Saturday, January 13, 2015 and announced on the Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons blog.

Be sure to pick up this super sweet Blog Hop freebie on Saturday and Sunday (the 10th and 11th) only available on Lisa’s blog…after that it will be available for sale in the store.  

And then there’s the monthly challenge! Your project can be anything that is Love themed and features Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons files. Please be sure to see all the rules and the link up at the monthly challenge page. One random participant will win $20 to PPPR

 

Here is the entire hop order, in case you get lost along the way. You’ll be heading to ****Sarah’s blog****  from here.

Happy hopping! Don’t forget to follow and comment in order to be in it to win it for the blog candy.

Ruth

Lisa ~ http://prettypaperprettyribbons.blogspot.com/

 
 
 
Ruth ~ https://paperandmusings.wordpress.com/ <<<<<——— You are here!
 

Sarah ~ http://sarahvaitstamps.blogspot.com/<<<<<——— Head here for Sarah’s awesome project!

 
 
 
 

Katy ~ http://scrappinkaty.blogspot.com/

Leah ~http://leahschaeffer.blogspot.com/

I am entering the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge: Make new friends, but keep the old…
My new friend is the Wink of Stella Black glitter pen, the old friend in the Close to My Heart Elemental collection paper that I used for the background.
I am entering the Simon Says Stamp Simon Says Something New challenge
My Something New is using the Divide command in Silhouette Studio to create the image within my inside sentiment (also the Wink of Stella pens and how to use them is something new I tried.)
Comments on: "Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons, Pretty Fun card!" (32)

  1. Super Cute!! Your Hubby willl love it!!
    TinaB

  2. Barbara Greenberg said:

    What an adorable card, inside and out

  3. I am such a sucker for punny sentiments and this is awesome. Love that lion, too! What a great Valentine’s Day card this is!

  4. This lion is one of my favorites to work with and he is super cute on this card

  5. Awwww this istoo cute… no lion

  6. This is so cute!

  7. SiskiyouSue said:

    Adorable card, the inside really makes it special!

  8. Like the folded up mane to add dimension wasn’t enough…you go and throw in the FABULOUS “No Lion” sentiment with the lion silhouette on it!!! AWESOME! I’m a Cricut user but I’m gonna try my hand at this technique…thanks for the brilliant idea!

  9. HOW PUNNY!! LOL! I just LOVE that card!! I am a new follower. Have a GREAT Day,
    Me-Ma Kim

  10. Your hubby will love it! Great job!

  11. So so cute! I love the dimension and everything! This is darling! Hugs- Glora
    me(at)glorajean(dot)com

  12. Iris Soscia said:

    Super cute card – love the lion.
    I follow you with email.
    isoscia@aol.com

  13. Oh, my goodness! This is too cute! I love the way you did the inside of the card. 🙂 Thank you so much for creating such an adorable project for our hop today, Ruth! 🙂

  14. This turned out adorable– I am in love with the fabulous card bases too 🙂

  15. Aw, what a sweet card! The sentiment made me smile too… got my fingers crossed for you that you don’t get a groan from your hubby 😉

  16. Virginia L. said:

    Totally ADORABLE! Love the dimensions and colors on the loin card! Thanks so much for playing Simon Says Stamp Wednesday “Something New” Challenge!

  17. Great creation, love how you did the lion mane. Thanks for sharing your tips.

  18. Super cute card! I’m a follower.

  19. Robin Smith said:

    So Adorable.

  20. love it so cute
    vivi j

  21. Carla Hundley said:

    Great card and that
    lion is so fun with all
    those layers!
    Carla from Utah

  22. What a great card, Ruth! I LOVE what you did with the lion’s mane, and the sentiment on the inside is perfect. Already a follower!

    ~Ashley W
    proudusmcwife@gmail.com
    http://marinewifesscrappinlife.blogspot.com

  23. This is super cute, I now follow by email.

  24. How cute is this..!!Following you! Cheers to blog hop!
    Suchi
    (http://suchizcardstock.blogspot.com)

  25. great card Ruth – love the inside too 🙂

  26. jessica9975 said:

    so adorable!
    jessica
    chick-n-scrap.blogspot.com

  27. That’s such a cute card! ❤ I love it!!! So clever and cute!!! Great job <3!

  28. Love this card and totally love how you did the inside! 🙂

  29. Very cute card great way to kick off your hop

  30. Super cute!! Love the sentiment with the lion – so cute!!

  31. You did a wonderful job on this card! I love the dimension you added to the lion’s mane. In fact, the whole lion’s body is fabulous with how you layered each component. The sentiment is TOO CUTE and I really like how you made the card look great both inside and out. Thanks so much for the inspiration and for sharing your talents with us for this week’s Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

