Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

Hi! So glad you’re here today! I’m tooting my son’s horn! He’s grown in so many ways over the past year and he continues to amaze me (thus, my post title – and the fact that I’m up on the Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons blog today – yippee!)

I wanted to scrap a couple of photos I’d gotten of him as he prepared for his 8th grade graduation photos. The boys are encouraged to dress up (something he wasn’t looking forward to) and I had gotten him a dress shirt and 4 different ties I thought would look nice with it for him to choose from (I like to give choices when I can – I feel that if they have a say then it’s easier for them to do whatever is being asked.) He chose one of the ties after his dad walked him through some discussion about tie styles over the years and they worked through tying the knot, although in the end my hubby just left the knot in place and Alex and I tightened it in the morning.

So my layout shows the pictures of him after he’s all dressed up as well as after he puts on his glasses and adds his own fashion touch of silliness!

Alleyesonyou

I used this PageMaps sketch, which is the current Becky Fleck challenge at A Cherry on Top:

ACOT_BF88_030315

I love Lisa’s Notebook Pages Cutting Files, which you may have noticed because I’ve used them before. I filled the spiral bound shape with the notebook page pattern from the School Days Pattern Pack and did print and cut with it. It’s such a wonderful, realistic looking page – perfect for journaling! Here’s a closer peak at that (and the journaling.)

AEOY_JournalDet

The Hats Off Cutting Files have some really fun grad hats that I thought would be fun to scatter on the page in place of the flowers. I simplified each one to two layers since dimension was good but I didn’t want a lot of detail to them. Here are the others:

AEOY - TopCapDet

AEOY_TitleDetAlso, because Alex putting on his glasses was a huge reason for the first photo, I thought the glasses from the Old Chap Cutting Files would be fun to have on my page and that helped inspire my title!

So that’s about it for today! Have you entered your project in our Anything Goes Challenge? It’s a great opportunity to create anything you want and enter it to win a gift certificate from the store! $20 can buy a lot of fun files!!!

Thanks so much for visiting today! I hope you have a chance to get some happy crafting done! I’d love to hear about any projects you’re working on in the comments or just anything you’d like to share! Hearing from you always makes me smile!

Ruth


I’ll be entering this layout in:

Simon Says Stamps’ Wednesday Challenge : Anything Goes

Simon Says Stamps’ Monday Challenge : No Rules

Stuck On U Sketches Feb 20th-Die Cut challenge: Clothing

I used: Cardstock – , Bazzill, Coredinations; Patterned Paper – Little Yellow Bicycle; Printer paper – Epson Presentation Paper; Digital die cut machine – Silhouette Cameo; Software – Silhouette Studio Designer Edition; Wood veneer – Studio Calico; Pen – Zig; Stamps – My Favorite Things; Ink – Close to My Heart, Stampin’ Up!; Fonts – Arial, Bready Regular Demo, CK Girl; Adhesive – Imaginesce, Scrap Perfect, Xyron, Zig.
Comments on: "Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons, Pretty Amazed" (6)

  1. Barbara Greenberg said:

    What a great layout and will be a nice memory to look back on the thoughts of this year at school

  2. quilterlin said:

    He looks like a wonderful young man, Ruth; having 2 boys of my own, now all grown up and far away, I know that proud feeling you have! Love the layout and the interesting elements you brought together for it! Thanks for sharing this with us at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday challenge!

  3. This is such a great layout, Ruth! Love the papers and all the little elements you used to make this page.

  4. Terrific page! Love those grad caps! 🙂

  5. Tracey K said:

    Fabulous page…….love your take on the clothing die cut challenge at Stuck on U Sketches.
    The die cut embellishments are perfect! Thank you for sharing it with us!

  6. Wonderful page Ruth! What a great tribute to your son! Fantastic photos! Love all the embellishments.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

