Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

Hello! I’m so glad you stopped in! Today I’ve got a post over at Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons blog and I’m sharing a few more details here about how I created the shaker card I made. So, the story goes that at Christmas I created some personalized ornaments for my family using Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons cut files but I needed a Christmas tree to hang them on for pictures and we didn’t have ours up yet. Friends of ours that live a few houses down our block had their tree up and my daughter’s friend was very kind about taking the time to let me in the house and ooh and aaah over the projects. She is a fan of the Avengers, and specifically Captain America, so I offered to make an ornament for her. Fast forward to today when she’s having her 16th birthday party and we needed a gift and card – today’s projects! Here’s the gift part. Pretty easy, print and cut, mostly on photo paper to get shine (only the head, nose and eyebrows were on matte cardstock.) I used the Superhero A Cutting Files. CapAforJoy I used a couple of extra layers of cardstock behind the colored figure layers so that Cap didn’t end up with a lumpy forehead  from where the twine was adhered like some of the characters I made for my family. I asked my daughter if he should have his mask on and she chose without. Now onto the card. CapShiledforJoy I used the Superhero Badges Cutting Files. I ungrouped then deleted the pinked edge because I wanted to make a shaped card with a smooth edge. I copied each layer with the star in place in Silhouette Studio and used “subtract” on each one to get the star to cut through all the layers. Below is a screen shot of how all the layers looked – the two whole white circles are the card itself – the same size as the black layer but without any star in the middle. CapAShieldShakerFile Once all the layers were cut I glued the shield together, cut a circle from acetate for the shaker just bigger than the star opening, lined up dimensional adhesive around the edges of the star, filled it with sequins and glued the shield to the card base (I didn’t fill the whole shield with dimensional adhesive because I wanted it to bow out a bit like the real shield would.) Next I scored the back of the card in a straight line and glued that to the front. I hope she likes her card and ornament! I can’t believe that my daughter and her friends are turning 16 now. There’s something about that age that is a bit surreal for me! Thanks so much for visiting today! I hope you’ll join us on Saturday, when we’re having a blog hop to announce the next challenge!

Happy crafting!

Ruth

I’m entering the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge A is for…(Captain America)

ETA: I am linking this project up with the current is issue Let’s Get This Party Star-ted and Par-ty Heart-y at Paper Issues, because Stars.

Yay! Paper Issues shared my project on their Fan Feature Friday so now I can proudly display their button! Woohoo!

Comments on: "Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons Pretty Super" (4)

  1. Super cute! I just started making shaker cards…they’re fun, aren’t they? 🙂

  2. What a great project. I’m sure your daughters friend is going to be thrilled when she sees it and also that you remembered what she liked.

  3. Such a fun and cool creation! Thank you so much for sharing with us at Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge. 🙂

  4. Awesome! TFS 🙂

    Michelle
    Purple Monkey Moments

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

