Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

watercolor.bloghopHi! Watercolors are something that I’ve always loved the look of. I mean just look at the image above – it makes my heart happy. I need to play more with watercolors to get better at getting the look I want, but for the time being I just enjoy playing with water and different ways of painting.

This year, the gifts I gave to teachers and staff at my son’s school were notebooks that I got through Pick Your Plum. These were ready for decoration and I used different ways to decorate them. My watercolor projects involve die cuts that I have watercolored with Distress Stains and Inks as well as Gelatos.

All this is to introduce my first project for Pretty Pink Posh’s Watercolor Blog Hop!

Let’s get on to the project:

0529150925

We are giving this to a woman who worked with my son for many years, overseeing his IEP for some of grade school into middle school. She once lent me a book about bird calls when I said that I didn’t know what sound Sandhill Crains made (turns out I was familiar with the sound, I just didn’t know that’s what it was!) I thought she might like this image of birds.

I used a die cut from the Silhouette store (three birds 5×7 papercut card with liner by Nic Squirrell) for this scene that I cut out of watercolor paper. I then used Distress Stain (mowed lawn, mustard seed and barn door) or Ink (tea dye and salty ocean) mushed onto my craft mat, spritzed with water and picked up with a water brush to “paint” the image (this is my go-to way to watercolor right now.) I knew that without a definite boundary it would be hard to keep the colors from running into each other, so I embraced that. I also allowed some areas to be more bold and others to be more soft which I think is part of what makes watercolor interesting.

I have done watercoloring with other inks, too. All dye inks can be smooshed onto a craft mat (some inks can be smooshed onto their own lid) and picked up with a waterbrush to get that watercolor look.

I hope you’ll give watercoloring a try and join in the hop! I’d love to see what you create!

Thanks so much for stopping by!

Happy crafting!

Ruth

Comments on: "Three birds “Watercolored” notebook cover" (17)

  1. I’m sure she will love and cherish this, Ruth! Those birds are watercolorful and divine!! Hugs, Darnell

  2. I love this idea of painting the die cuts! Beautiful!

  3. This is a real beauty! It got my attention right away while I was scrolling. Love it!

  4. Brithzi Sandy said:

    Great project. I am sure she will love it.

  5. Beautiful! Very thoughtful gift 🙂

  6. Jessica Bavier said:

    Very pretty! Love the fun die cut! 🙂

  7. wow, such careful colouring of the die cut image

  8. Lovely! I’m sure she’ll be pleased!

  9. Celeste Goff said:

    This card is so fun, bright, and creative! Love it!

  10. kristina3150 said:

    Cute!

  11. Brandi R said:

    Fabulous card! Great colors ♥

  12. Juliana Michaels said:

    Such a cute card!!!

  13. Fun card! Thanks for sharing! ~Annie

  14. What a wonderful idea and WOW what a beautiful cover to this notebook!! You are amazing!!

  15. Great card! Reminds me of Chinese water-cuts? Water-coloured paper-cuts? Lol

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

