Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

We are ready! We’ve been at the same school since 2004 and it’s time for a change of scenery! That’s not to say that there aren’t those that we will miss, it’s just that we’re ready for the next step!

If you haven’t been following along, my son was just promoted from 8th grade last week. Over the 9 years he spent at our K-8 school he developed friendships with some pretty awesome boys! They certainly helped to make school more fun for my son, but they are ready to get going to high school. I liked the idea of moving on and felt that the title from Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons’ Are We There Yet Cutting Files would work perfectly for my page! Take a look!
AWTY_Full

Doesn’t my son and his friend look ready to take on the world (or at least high school?) I wanted to create this layout for my design team post over at the Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons blog. I’m glad I got this moment recorded!

I love arrows and feel like they show movement, so I’ve included arrows from the Arrows Cutting Files. There’s one hiding in the title and one peeking out from behind the photo:

AWTY_TitleDet

then the other one is on the bottom of the photo. I also wanted a sign post for the journey these boys would be taking so I used the sign from the fun Gnomies Cutting Files, and just added my own text to the face of the sign. Here’s a closer peek at that part of the layout:

AWTY_SignDet

That’s about it as far as my design team project! There are so many treasures hidden in Lisa’s files. It’s something I’ve really enjoyed in the projects created by my fellow DT members!

I’ll be entering a number of challenges with this layout and I’ll talk about that below.

Thanks so much for stopping by! I hope you have fun using something in a way that’s different from what it was originally intended!

Happy scrapping!

Ruth

Supplies I used:

Patterned Paper: My Mind’s Eye, Simple Stories; Stamps: Close to My Heart, My Favorite Things; Ink: Tsukineko; Pens: American Crafts and Sakura; Wood veneer: Studio Calico; Stickers: Simple Stories; Markers: Berol and Bic; Adhesive: Imaginesce, ScrapPerfect, Xyron, Zig. Digital die cutting machine: Silhouette

Challenges I am entering:

First, I found a wonderful challenge on Leah’s Layouts for Sketch N Scrap‘s 3rd birthday, which included this awesome sketch and using three arrows:

And speaking of arrows I’m entering the current challenge over at Stuck on U Sketches Arrows Die Cut Challenge.

Last, the challenge over at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge is: Simon Says Make It Masculine where we are challenged to share how we make our projects work for the boys and men in our lives. I would say for masculine projects it’s not that hard for me because I’m not one for a lot of incredibly feminine details, but for the guys I tend to stay away from floral elements and instead focus on geometric patterns and cool colors and wood details, which I’ve done here.

That’s it today! Thanks for stopping by!

Comments on: "Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons, Pretty Much Ready" (4)

  1. Awesome layout Ruth and the title is perfect and I love the sign for next stop high school.

  2. caryndavies said:

    Great layout – and what a lovely photo.
    Thanks for sharing your creation with us in this week in the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday masculine card challenge.
    Hugs,
    Caryn x

  3. Yay! Congrats to the grad! Christopher is going into high school in the fall as well. Terrific page!

  4. Great take on the sketch and challenge! Thanks for playing!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

