Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

Well, I hope it is a very happy Father’s Day, since I’m creating my post in advance.

It’s my day to post a project on the Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons blog using files from the store. My project used some very fun cut files as well as some of the awesome digital papers! There’s nothing that I love better than to play with my Silhouette Cameo and my HP printer and awesome files that I can use with both! So I’m just going to say right now that I’m entering Simon Says Stamp’s Wednesday Challenge Simon Says Use Your Favorite Technique and/or Product! There! It’s out in the open!

So, as I like to do, I’m sharing something a bit different from the expected Father’s Day project. It doesn’t include a card or even a layout showing fatherly love. I created a page about the gift my kids and I made for their father this year, because it’s fun and allowed me to use Lisa’s awesome files!

Here it is:

NailedItFull_Web

So, do you see what I mean about fun files? I couldn’t help but use these awesome tools for a page about the dresser we had so much fun shopping for and building for my hubby! And the paper patterns and pegboard in the background, also from the store! I used: the Pegboard Background Cutting Files, the Tool Time Cutting Files, the Photo Frames 3 Cutting Files, and Man, Oh Man Pattern Pack 1 and Man, Oh Man Add On Pack for the digital papers.

Here’s a close-up of the title:

Title_web

and another angle:

Screwy_web

Happy tools and parts just make me happy and went along so well with our smiling and sometimes silly faces! I love it and had a ton of fun putting it all together!

My hubby takes care of so many different projects around the house and yet had a fairly icky dresser, so I measured the space that we had available and picked up a new one for him at IKEA. It was really great to have my son to help get the 79 pound package into and out of my van and help move the old dresser out and the new dresser in. My daughter was the best assistant of all time reading the directions and counting out the parts we’d need for the next step while I gave myself a blister using a screwdriver that was too small (I found one with a longer handle and things got soooo much easier – this is why my hubby usually does these things!) Anyway, it was a true family effort and we all were pretty happy when everything was all set up and working at the end of the day!

Yep, I love what I do and I hope my hubby’s not too disappointed that he doesn’t have anything to open on Father’s Day other than a dresser drawer that works!

I hope you are having a wonderful Father’s Day (or had if the day has passed.)

Happy scrapping!

Ruth

Other challenges I am entering (in alphabetical order):

Challenge YOUrself Challenge #19: Anything Goes – I’m in the middle photo with my daughter – the best selfie I’ve ever taken, Woohoo!

Die Cuttin’ Divas Challenge #220: Masculine Theme

The Memory Nest Make it Monday Challenges No. 41 – with this awesome sketch by Leslie Germain:

MemoryNest41

Comments on: "Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons, Pretty Happy Father’s Day!" (14)

  1. What a great gift especially since you assembled it all yourselves. So awesome you scrapped about and got fun pictures. LOVE LOVE LOVE all the embellishements.

  2. Very cool! Love that pegboard background.

  3. I love the selfie!!!! And your page is so creative and fun! I love everything about it! Thank you so much for playing along with us at Challenge YOUrself this month!

  4. Well you definitely nailed it with this page. Such a wonderfully inspired present, it needed to be scrapped. Thanks for using the sketch from The Memory Nest.

  5. Virginia L. said:

    What an awesome layout to pay tribute to your hubby! The use of tool elements is superb! I am sure he will treasure the dresser drawer so much! Thanks so much for playing Simon Says Stamp Wednesday “Favorite Products/Techniques” Challenge!

  6. Georgiana said:

    Thank you for joining our “Masculine” Challenge this week at Die Cuttin’ Divas.

    Stay Creative,
    Georgiana
    • Carson’s Creations •
    Die Cuttin’ Diva DT

  7. Great page, love the title work.

  8. Fun story and great page! Those are awesome die cuts! You sure did nail it!!! So glad you joined us at Challenge YOUrself

  9. LOVE The Title – Great color combo and Awesome take on the sketch! Thanks for playing along with us at The Memory Nest – and – at The Challenge YOUrself Blog – 2 of my favorite challenges “wink*wink!” 😉

  10. FAAAAAAAAAAANTASTIC! Love those tools…great take on the sketch! Thanks for joining in at THE MEMORY NEST!

  11. What a fun layout, love the pegboard and the tools!!

  12. Lisa H. said:

    This is an adorable page! Thanks for joining our challenge this month @ Challenge Yourself!

  13. great story to document and what a thoughtful gift! Love all the photos and the super cute tools! (Kate-Challenge YOUrself)

  14. This page is just adorable!! LOVE the embellishments and title!! And the nail holes on the background are a perfect addition!!! Thank you for playing along with tMN and sharing your fun creation with us!!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

