Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

It’s a new thing I’m making up so that my card works for this August 2 post!

It seemed like a great idea to make a Christmas in July card to share for today and I was so inspired by the files in the Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons store, but then I realized my post would be in August not July, but I just couldn’t stop that train, if you know what I mean! 😉

So I’m on the Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons blog today sharing a card I created using these files:

Shadow Box Card 1 Cutting Files

with:

North Pole Express Cutting Fiiles

and:

Snowy Scene Cutting Files

and here’s what I created:

Believe_web

I’m so pleased with how awesome this scene turned out! I was originally going to have the train attached just inside the front window, but decided I liked how it looked on the background instead. I used a fair amount of shimmer and shine to really make these cuts seem even more magical.

Here’s a shot showing some of the shine:

Believe Detail_web

So shimmery cardstock on the card base and the back layer of the ticket, Glimmer Mist spots on the background and touches of Wink of Stella marker on the headlight and the snowy tree branches. And Silhouette’s Printable Foil (in gold and silver) were wonderful for adding some shine and helping to bring this card to life.

The watercoloring/inking of my background didn’t turn out as wintry as I would have liked, but I think it was a good option so that I didn’t end up with crazy tiny cuts from the Snowy Scene background. I was practicing a technique from the Background Check class at Online Card Classes – I have a feeling I will be playing with that one a lot!

I used Print and Cut for the train and the trees and snowy ground and then just glued them all in place on top of the whole shape that was also printed – easy peasy to line everything up and add a little extra dimension and texture and shadow.

I’m excited to have another project to enter into Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge : Anything Goes. And because this card has a great outdoors scene, I’m also entering the Die Cuttin’ Divas’ Ch#226: The Great Outdoors.

Thanks so much for visiting today! I’d love for you to tell me if you usually get a head start on Christmas by beginning your cardmaking early or if you wait until the inspiration of the holiday hits you.

Happy crafting!

Ruth

ETA: Just found PDE linky party – anything goes, so I’m linking up there.

Comments on: "Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons, Pretty Merry Christmas in August!" (9)

  1. scrapper69 said:

    What a fabulous card!!! LOVE the design! 🙂

    Theresa

  2. Love, love, love your train card!!! My grandsons would go WILD over this card! Thanks for the inspiration!!!

  3. What an awesome card, I’m always amazed all the great cut files you find and the beautiful creations you make with them

  4. This is such a great card

  5. Absolutely Beautiful!!
    Have a wonderful day,
    Millie
    Crafting With Creative M

  6. LOVE that choo choo!

  7. Fabulous cards Ruth, a super design and I love your train and I how yow have arranged it…..love the fun ticket element!!

    Heather xx
    Thanks so much for joining us with Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge.

  8. Incredible. I love how it turned out.
    Thanks for playing at PDE Linky Party!
    DT Janis

  9. What a cute and fun card. Thanks for linking up over at PDE Linky Party Would love to have you link up over at 2 Creative Chicks too.

    Have a creative day.
    Nana DT Member
    ♥ My Crafting Channel ♥
    ♥ Nana’s Rag Quilts ♥
    ♥ 2 Creative Chicks ♥
    ♥ Silhouette Challenges ♥

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

