Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

So, it’s taking a while to actually get going in Hawai’i, but here we are on our very first morning enjoying breakfast. Something that I think makes Hawai’i more magical is that there aren’t problems with bugs like there are in places we’ve visited in the continental US, so almost every hotel and restaurant is open to the outdoors. While we were eating our breakfast there were birds walking around and a gecko climbing a column, but no wasps or flies making us uncomfortable.

For this story, I adored this sketch by Laura Whitaker for  Stuck?! Sketches:

I saw the shaded area behind the layers as an opportunity to do some more watercolor techniques with Distress Inks and the banner along the left side was a fun place to put a film strip die cut (from Paper Issues).

I also was glad to see the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge is Anything Goes, because this is certainly qualifying as anything (and I always love seeing what their design team creates when they get to choose the theme!)

Here’s my layout:

Hawaiipage3AH

(I have lots of musings about this page, I apologize! I’ll get back to the pictures and techniques in a couple more paragraphs.) So another thing about  Hawai’i is that while the costs are high, meals are also incredibly generous. It might have been because we were all getting over the flu which left us lacking an appetite, but every meal was just huge – it made it easy to just snack for one meal and only have two major meals a day, which is quite convenient when there’s a lot of driving and exploring going on! 

I am sensitive to certain types of sunscreen and hate sunscreen running into my eyes, but I am also very sensitive to the sun, so I tend to get zinc-based sunscreens. The sunscreen stick I got for us to use in Hawai’i that was zinc-based left our skin even whiter than usual. It was a joke in our family that we were “Pasty” (pronounced “past” with a “y” at the end – this was my son’s invention and made our white faces smile.)

More details of the layout? Sure!

Hawaiipage3AHDet

For the yellow and orange solid pieces, I used the Distress ink pads directly on watercolor paper – the effect is obviously very bold and bright. I liked the contrast with the watercolor scribbles in the background (created with a Distress ink pad smooshed onto my craft mat and picked up with a water brush.) I scattered a few sequins around (they are from SpiegelMomScrapShop Etsy store – these were lemon from a summer mix with green and pink. She has awesome mixes and I love that I get can just a few to add some shine – I don’t need a ton to get the effect that I want.)

The patterned paper is from Bella Blvd (Freestyle banana), Hawaii was stamped with Sally’s ABC’s stamp set by Lawn Fawn with Distress ink and the sun and Aloha cuts are from the Silhouette store (I added an additional offset to create the orange layer around the Aloha.)

I had a blast creating this bright and fun page and am so glad to have another story of our trip documented!

Thanks so much for stopping by! I hope you’ll stop in again soon!

Ruth

 

Comments on: "Aloha, Hawaii, Rise and Shine!" (6)

  1. Such a great happy take on the the sketch! Thanks for joining us at Stuck?! Sketches!

  2. Awesome layout….love how you did the background! Great colouring! Thanks for playing along with Stuck?!

  3. Great work on the background and I love this yellow: it makes me think to summer! Thanks for sharing at Stuck?! Sketches. Eli

  4. What a beautiful page! Great take on the sketch and I love how you used the yellow!

  5. Love the bright yellow, this is a fab page! Thank you for joining us at Stuck?! Sketches – Hugs Sarah x x x x

  6. oh I love the yellow! Nice job with the Stuck?! Sketch. Thanks for joining our challenge.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

