Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

Love to Celebrate You

I’m back. My mom and Mother-in-Law have birthdays that are a day apart so I’ve been busy trying to make beautiful cards to celebrate these wonderful women.

I was inspired by the  Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge SLIMLINE CARDS and Pinkfresh FEBRUARY 2022 CHALLENGE, here’s the graphic from Pinkfresh:

I thought the colors as well as the theme worked really well so I created this card:

I started by using gold embossing on the floral image from the Heartfelt Thanks Stamp Set. I used the suggested colors: Coral Reef, Candy Apple, Aquamarine, and Mermaid Cove for the ink blending with the Heartfelt Thanks Slimline Layering Stencil on Neenah Classic Crest 80 LB Smooth Solar White cardstock. I added Lawn Fawn Gold Stencil Paste for the flower centers and die cut the card front with the largest rectangle from the Essentials Blanket Stitch Slimline & Mini Slimline Rectangles set. I splattered the pink and red inks (mixed with some water on my Ranger Non Stick Craft Sheet) and some Coliro Watercolor Gold Pearl around the card front as well as the sentiment strip from the Foiled Sentiments.

I ink blended the pinks together on my Neenah Solar White 80 lb cardstock to create an ombre effect, die cut it out with the ‘love’ die from the Essentials Classic Word Die Set and then cut the shadow layer from Neenah Solar White 80 lb cardstock three times. I used a bit of white gel pen to cover up some of the words on the Foiled Sentiment so that I could fit the ‘love’ over part of it and have it look more natural.

I added some Metallic Gold Pearls as a finishing touch.

I get a breather from important birthdays for a little while. Do you have a time of the year when you have a lot of birthdays to celebrate and create for? In some ways it’s nice because I get into a bit of a groove and it’s easier to create when I’m in that groove.

I hope you are able to have some fun creating! It was so nice working on these cards while the sun was shining brightly. Even though a lot of these days have been fairly cold, it’s so much less distracting than a nice day in summer!

Ruth

Leave a comment