Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

Aging Beautifully

Hi! Once again it’s a busy February of cardmaking. I’m thankful for the opportunity to celebrate those I love by sending them a handmade card.

I love creating for challenges because it usually helps with making decisions about what to use to create. This is very helpful when you have so many amazing products in your stash and don’t know where to start. Today’s inspiration was from the Altenew February 2022 Inspiration Challenge. This gave me the products that I would choose from as well as a color scheme.

Here’s the graphic for the challenge:

Here’s what I created:

I used the Paint-A-Flower: Paeonia Japonica Outline Stamp Set and a sentiment from the Beautiful Day Stamp Set, which I embossed with white embossing powder on Distress Watercolor cardstock. I found the perfect paint colors in my stash of The Sprout Creative watercolors.

I used Memory for the background, Sunflower for the flower centers, and Bouquet for the leaves. I mixed Memory and Sunflower together to create the shadow colors in the flower petals. Once dry I added Fantasia on the petals to create a shimmer.

I did add a bit of black Micron pen to the top line of letters in the sentiment to help give them more definition (the embossing wasn’t the best on all of the letters and overall it just wasn’t popping like I had hoped it would.)

I hope you have a beautiful day and are able to create something to help celebrate someone you love.

Ruth

Leave a comment