Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

[Hi! I’ve honestly been making all sorts of things over the past year. I just haven’t taken the time to blog about them. This time I’m blogging because one of the challenges I was inspired by wants a link to the challenge and this is the best way I know how to do that.]

The Pinkfresh Studio Monthly Challenge for May is all about rainbows!

I had been asked by my mother-in-law to create six 80th birthday cards for her to give to her friends. I adapted one card design from a class for the first one and this one I thought would be fun to design myself for this challenge.

Thankfully, I found the perfect paper from Pinkfresh’s Happy Heart collection – it has a pastel rainbow down the front. Then I took different elements from some of the other parts of the collection including papers, chipboard frames, ephemera, and enamel dots (along with a few Pinkfresh metallic pearls) to create the front of my card.

Here’s how it turned out:

I had fun finding all of the “happy” words in the different forms (paper pad, ephemera, and chipboard frames), and it was fun picking what elements I would put in each of the rainbow areas.

For the inside, I was inspired by a video from Jennifer McGuire where she embossed her card base to create some lovely texture behind the papers of her card, so I used the Lush Vines Hot Foil Plate to dry emboss my card base. I cut down the papers for the inside to show off that border and added the Happy Birthday from the Rainbow Sentiments Ephemera Pack along with “80” diecut from another patterned paper in the set with the Heather Lowercase dies for one side of the inside and used ephemera pieces and the Alphabet Stickers for the sentiment and elements on the right side (the card base was from a Photoplay pop-up card kit.)

I finished off the tag with a bit of gold cord (and the “80” frame is cut from Spellbinders Mirror Gold Cardstock.)

I was surprised how much fun I had making this card with absolutely no ink or stamps and no foam tape!

Thanks so much to Pinkfresh Studio for the inspiration to use these fabulous products that have obviously been waiting to be used for a while!

I hope you have a chance to create something you love very soon!

Thanks so much for visiting today!

Ruth

P.S. This isn’t required, but I am very happy to share another source of inspiration! Firefly Farm offers all kinds of classes and bundles and challenges (lots of them online) and also some fabulous gifts and of course lots of crafty goodness. As part of the May Surprise Bundle Challenge Firefly Farm supplied the Photoplay Paper Pop-up card base and the challenge to use an included piece of paper in the card design. I would not have this card design if it weren’t for this fun challenge (I received the Happy Heart papers and enamel dots as part of a previous challenge from Firefly Farm and I added the ephemera and chipboard frames to my order!) Right now Firefly Farm is offering a June Creative Crate, A Berry Scooby-Doo! Cardmaking Edition which feature Lea Lawnson (from Pinkfresh Studio) along with other great companies and instructors. Trisha always makes these events so much fun and the kits are always amazing! I can’t recommend them enough for a fun change of pace!

Comments on: "Pastel rainbows make my heart happy!" (1)

  1. christinenovalarue said:

    💛

Leave a comment