Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

Christmas time is here!

Today is my day over at the Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons blog, if you’d like to check that out here.

I’m sure if you’re like me, you have many traditions when it comes to this wonderful time of year.  One of ours may seem a bit odd, but it’s something that happens very close to where we live and is super fun – the Lego train show!

I was so excited because the Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons shop has the awesome Master Builder Cutting Files and Lego Mania Title Cutting Files to make scrapping my photos a ton of fun! I played with them to create a bright, cheery page about some of my pictures from the train show in 2007.

Double

I started out with this sketch from Scrap Much?

12 november 28 2014 scrapmuch sketch

 

I loved that I would be able to fit so many pictures and especially that there was room on the left for one large photo. I used the idea of the stepping with the Lego blocks and decided to put the pictures in them like a frame.

Left

Right

 

I used print and cut with all of the images (I used photo paper to get that glossy Lego look) and cut some separated to add more dimension to the finished image. I love this title and had such fun adding some bricks here and there with dimension for fun! Check out the detail of the top bricks! Love it!!!

TitleDet

And this Lego guy is pretty cute, if I don’t say so…

LegoMan

And the journaling block? Another file from the Master Builder set scaled to fit that spot and trimmed down.

Well, that about wraps it up for me for now!

Did you play with Legos as a child? My hubby did and I think the fact that our kids enjoyed them so much was even more special for him because of it. Me? I had some other kinds of building toys and then as an adult started collecting Legos with my hubby and those sets have now been passed down to our kids. I’d love to hear your Lego stories! Please feel free to share links to your projects in the comments or just tell me about it, if you’d like!

Thanks so much for coming by! 

Happy scrapping!

Ruth

ETA – I’m linking up with Silhouette Challenges “Anything Goes” 

ETA – I’m entering this layout over at sketches4all for December’s Challenge 4 Plus Pictures, and plenty of Words

 

Comments on: "Christmas time is here!" (14)

  1. Such a fun page, Ruth! Love how you did the right side with the lego steps and that little lego guy is super cute!

  2. Love! Lego is awesome and so are your page and these cut files. We have the Magic Brick show come to Raleigh where we get to see some pretty awesome set ups and then Lego has come a couple times to our convention center…Christopher love the huge brick pile that like a mega ball pit where people sit and build and play. 🙂

  3. tinacampbell said:

    What a cute layout Ruth! I’ve got a husband and a grandboy that would love to see something like that 🙂 I love how you displayed the pictures within the blocks 🙂 I hope that title was a print n cut that would have been tedious to put together 🙂 Love your take on the sketch 🙂

    • Hi, Tina! Thanks so much for stopping in and leaving such a sweet comment! I did the title as print and cut, but did layers within that, so the shadow is one layer, the main title is another and then I print and cut the red and green brick top layers (decided that it would be fun to do the Christmas colors that way) so that I could add a little more dimension in a few spots. Glad it looks complicated, but it only took a couple of minutes to put together and I love that it looks more complex! 😉

  4. Barbara Greenberg said:

    This is an awesome layout. I LOVE LOVE LOVE how you did the title. How clever is that.
    I bought a big Lego collection Arctic City for my grandson this year. All the boys in the family love legos. My other grandson got a big set from us last year. I would love to buy and build the famous building sets myself. Sounds like fun.

    • Barbara, thanks so much for stopping by and leaving some love.
      I know what you mean about the title! It’s so much fun! All the credit goes to Lisa Norris, the designer for the Pretty Paper Pretty Ribbons store! Believe me, it is a ton of fun working with her files!
      I can’t imagine the time and care that went into building those Lego buildings. I’ve put together some big sets, but the ones at the train show are amazing! I’m sure your grandson will have a ball with his Legos!

  5. This is just AWESOME!!! We also have Lego lovers in the family….3 generations! Fabulous job with all the Lego elements. Thanks for playing along with ScrapMuch?!

  6. This is so unique and fun, thank you for sharing it with us at ScrapMuch?!

  7. What an amazing take on the sketch! I love the theme and the colours too! Thanks for playing along with us at ScrapMuch?

  8. Rebecca Daly said:

    wonderful inspiration from the sketch, love how you built up your title like lego blocks!! especially love those lego people, thank you for playing along with ScrapMuch?

  9. WoW!! LOVE this layout – what a unique take on this sketch – and your cut files!! LOVE them (I have have someone here who would LOVE for me to do a LEGO LO)
    Thank you for playing along at ScrapMuch?

  10. Wow! This is awesome! I love your cutting and your idea for this page was genius. Thanks for linking up at ScrapMuch?

  11. Fabulous take on the sketch! I love how you went full on with the lego theme – it worked perfectly! Thank you for sharing with us at ScrapMuch?

  12. Love this layout and yes it brings back memories of my childhood days of Lego. Every Saturday my mother took me to the local toy store to pick up my £1 set of Lego and had many hours of joy with it. I then passed it down to my 4 children and of course it grew some more. It is now in the hands of my grandchildren and I have to say it is way more expensive but still gives many hours of enjoyment.
    Thanks for sharing with us at Silhouette Challenges.
    Kim x

Leave a comment