Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

There were people on my Christmas list that the plate of cookies I was thinking about didn’t work for. I like to give something small and preferably homemade especially to those who give gifts to my family. This year I decided the gift would be a 3D Christmas card that could be displayed, maybe even from year to year.

Here’s what I made from files by Lori Whitlock:

woodland

This is the 5×7 Bird in Tree Shadow Box Card – perfect for the nature and animal lover.

Santa

This is the 5×7 Sleigh Shadow Box Card for the one who still believes…

Bridge

Introducing the 5×7 Winter City Shadow Box Card just a beautiful scene

Nativity

And my favorite the 5×7 Nativity Shadow Box Card. Lori has a tutorial for how to assemble these cards on her YouTube channel. I will say it’s a bit tricky getting everything lined up, but they did all fit into their 5×7 envelopes, but sometimes it wasn’t as pretty folded as unfolded.

And while I’m sharing my Christmas projects from Lori Whitlock (since I’m entering the Christmas Gift Giving link up on her blog) I might as well share the Double Sliding Santa Gift Card Holder I created from Lori’s files:

Maggies_closed

Maggies_open

Other than using some velvet paper for Santa’s beard, mustache and fur trim I find that keeping things simple with colors and textures really works well for these files. I wanted to stamp a bit to decorate the inside of the gift card holder, which I’m pretty sure the intent of the design, but other than that I just kept it simple.

Thanks so much for visiting and I hope you have a wonderful 2015!

Ruth

ETA: I’m entering this post in the Anything Goes Challenge at the Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge Blog

ETA : linking this project up for the Paper Issues “Say it isn’t Snow cold outside” challenge.

Woohoo! I was featured on the Paper Issues Fan Feature Friday for the Bird in Tree card. Thanks so much, Paper Issues!

 

Comments on: "3D cards make a pretty impressive gift!" (4)

  1. Wow – what fantastic cards – so clever!
    Thanks for playing along at Simon Says Stamp Wednesday Challenge.
    Hugs,
    Caryn xxx

  2. almulcahey said:

    Gorgeous, love how they came out. Thanks so much for linking up at Paper Issues. Hugs.

  3. I am so glad Lisa spotted your project on our Paper Issues blog, these are simply gorgeous Ruth!

  4. Congrats on making the Paper Issues Fan Feature Friday, Ruth! I LOVE that shadowbox/3D card!

Leave a comment