Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

Sum, sum, summertime!

Yep, we had a bit of an odd summer. Again. We had hoped to get away and travel, but little things here and there meant that there was never a time that worked well for doing more than a day trip. So what was our summer about? Well, I got to thinking about this when  I started to see challenges with a summer theme – My Mind’s Eye specifically asked me to summarize our summer.  The inspiration collage from Whimsical Twist included pictures that reminded me of the fair and some beautiful flowers. I have this wonderful collection that I won from My Mind’s Eye that I’ve been using on lots of projects – what elements combined our summer with that collection? Then I realized : ribbons! Erin did two different competitions this summer and she has her birthday and The Sweetest Thing collection had lots of great fabric-inspired designs, some lovely flowers and even some really awesome award elements (similar to her ribbons!) Happiness:-D!

Whimsical Twist inspiration - Ferris Wheel and flowers + colorful umbrella caught my eye!

Whimsical Twist inspiration – Ferris Wheel and flowers + colorful umbrella caught my eye!

One of the challenges was from sketches4all. Their August Design Team Challenge included a PageMaps sketch and the theme of summertime. The sketch had three pictures which is how I came to think of Erin’s three ribbon events. Take a look at it here. It’s wonderful. Becky Fleck really knows how to design pages I love!

Don't you just think this is so lovely?

Don’t you just think this is so lovely?

So for pictures, Erin has such a whimsical way of approaching life, so I really wanted to showcase that. She had decided to put a bow on top of her head and posed for me (I may need to give this picture a LO of its own some day), then a picture of her part way through her schooling show at the stable with her ride/love Hayes and the ribbons up to that point and then after she finished her entries for the fair I got a picture of her with them all (she is so fun to be OK with sitting under the desk she’d set out all her entries on!) I was so proud of how hard she worked at everything and how mature she’s getting and also how whimsical she can be. My summer was about celebrating that, so that’s what my LO became!

Without further ado, here it is:

See what I mean about the elements really being perfect for this LO? Especially that #1 die cut! Such happiness!

See what I mean about the elements really being perfect for this LO? Especially that #1 die cut and the lovely flower paper! Such happiness!

And the detail pics:

Here's a close up of the title and journaling

Here’s a close up of the title and journaling

This was the inspiration for the title, from Scrapstuffz "Inspired by" Challenges. The vertical lines of the chairs along with the colors and arc. I thought it was so wonderful! Loved that I could use it for my title!

This was the inspiration for the title, from Scrapstuffz “Inspired by” Challenges. The vertical lines of the chairs along with the colors and arc. I thought it was so wonderful! Loved that I could use it for my title and I had such fun creating it!

Lower right corner showing off the wonderful  Tiny Word Stickers and Layered Sticker that were in The Sweetest Thing Lavender collection!

Lower right corner showing off the wonderful Tiny Word Stickers and Layered Sticker that were in The Sweetest Thing Lavender collection! Perfect!

I had to include some actual ribbon, too, so I used some seam-binding ribbon. I love how shiny and pretty it looks and purple is Erin’s favorite color, so I figured that was another great reason to include it!

Challenges I am entering (in alphabetical order – any “filing” errors are unintentional 😉

My Mind’s Eye : August Challenge Document Your Summer  http://mymindseye.typepad.com/blog/2013/08/summer-recap.html

Scrap Our Stash Challenge #6 – Summertime + use 3 or more pre-made die cuts from your stash (I used a layered sicker, label sticker, award die cut, Instaframe die cut) : http://scrapourstash.blogspot.com/2013/08/stash-challenge-6-summer-time.html

Scrappin-n-Chattin – August Challenges Anything Goes http://groups.yahoo.com/group/scrappin-n-chattin/message/215657

ScrapStuffz “Inspired by” Challenges – August : http://scrapstuffz.blogspot.com/2013/08/welcome-to-august-inspiration-reveal.html

Sketches 4 All August Design Team Challenge “Summertime Anything Goes” : http://sketchesforyou.ning.com/forum/topics/august-summertime-anything-goes

Whimsical Twist Summer Challenge : http://whimsicaltwist.com/blog/blog-hop/blog-hop-summer-challenge/

Details about materials I used:

Bazzill cardstock; My Mind’s Eye (The Sweetest Thing Lavender collection) patterned paper, chipboard elements, layered sticker, wood & chip button, label sticker, tiny word stickers; DCVW Adhesive Fabric Paper; Studio Calico Wood Veneer; Ki Instaframe; October Afternoon Alpha stickers; Simon Says Stamp and Stampin’ Up! stamps; Close to My Heart ink pads and marker; Bic Mark-It marker; 7 Gypsies seam binding ribbon; Twinery twine; The Greatest View Paper Doily; American Crafts and Zig adhesive; Washi tape from my stash

Thanks so much for stopping by and taking a peek! I am really enjoying being able to tell these stories! Maybe I’ll even do one with Alex in it (yes, I do have a son, too, he just isn’t as good about posing for pictures or getting involved in activities that I take many pictures of.) I hope you’ll take the time to leave me a comment about what you liked about my creation and if you wouldn’t mind letting me know how you found my blog, that’d be great, too! Have a wonderful week! I’m hoping to get a couple of cards done next and will be sharing them soon 😉

Comments on: "Sum, sum, summertime!" (62)

  1. Another great layout Ruth. Love all the little details you have added and the mini banner is so cool. Great job

  2. Me-Ma Kim said:

    AWESOME LAYOUT!! Good Luck with the challenges! Have a GREAT Day,
    Me-Ma Kim

  3. dannisdreams said:

    You make such wonderful layouts!! Just fabulous!! and I love how you tell about the thoughts behind the layouts too!! Hugs!

  4. What an absolutely gorgeous layout, Ruth!! I agree with everything you said about summertime ~ I always think it’s special just in itself. You don’t have to DO anything except enjoy it!!

    Thanks for joining our challenge at Sketches4All and thanks for visiting my blog and for sending me the sweet note!! :):)

  5. Ruth, what a beautifully done and well thought out page. I love the banner and polka dot paper across the middle of the page. Thanks for joining the summer theme at Whimsical Twist and good luck with all the challenges.

  6. Wow! So much to discover on this layout. I love the doilies! The ribbon banner is gorgeous The papers are beautiful. And of course Congratulations to Erin!

  7. Great layout, Ruth! There are so many things I love about this page that I can’t name them all!

  8. What a beautiful page, Ruth! I love the watercolor feel your banner has… so pretty. Thank you so much for sharing with us over at Whimsical Twist!

    • Kimmie,
      Thanks so much for visiting my blog and leaving such a sweet comment for my LO! I really loved the inspiration I got from the challenges and really felt that the ribbon banner needed to be soft, like the effect of the WT inspiration photos.
      I hope you have a fantastic day!
      Ruth
      P.S. My week was pretty much insane, so I must apologize for taking so long to reply to your comment! I did see it and appreciate it, I just was too busy with family issues to be able to reply until now.

  9. Gorgeous layout. The banner is fantastic. Thanks for joining us over at Whimsical Twist!

    • Charissa,
      Thanks so much for coming by and leaving such a kind and thoughtful comment on my LO! I really loved the inspiration from Whimsical Twist and had a blast getting all the details worked out!
      I hope you’re having a fabulous day!
      Ruth
      P.S. My week was pretty much insane, so I apologize for taking so long to reply to your comment! I did see it and appreciate it, I just was too busy with family issues to be able to reply until now.

  10. The title is just lovely! So pretty!

    • Laurie,
      Thanks so much for taking the time to come by and visit and leave such sweet comments! I just love this collection and am thrilled with how pretty everything I create with it turns out!
      I hope you have a fabulous day!
      Ruth
      P.S. My week was pretty much insane, so I apologize for taking so long to reply to your comment! I did see it and appreciate it, I just was too busy with family issues to be able to reply until now.

  11. Awesome layout! The colors are gorgeous, and I love the banner! Thanks for playing along with us at Whimsical Twist!! 🙂

    • Amanda,
      Thanks so much for taking the time to come by and visit and leave such sweet comments! I really am so thankful for the inspiration that Whimsical Twist provided and for how my supplies worked so well for my LO!
      Thanks again and I hope you have a wonderful day!
      Ruth
      P.S. My week was pretty much insane, so I apologize for taking so long to reply to your comment! I did see it and appreciate it, I just was too busy with family issues to be able to reply until now.

  12. Beautiful summer layout. Love the ribbon banner. Great Job. Thanks for playing along with us on our first challenge.
    Happy Scrappin’ Carrie

    • Carrie,
      Thanks so much for visiting my blog and for leaving such kind and thoughtful comments! It really means a lot that you enjoyed my LO, I certainly enjoyed creating it and am so happy to have these memories documented!
      I hope you have a very nice day!
      Ruth
      P.S. My week was pretty much insane, so I apologize for taking so long to reply to your comment! I did see it and appreciate it, I just was too busy with family issues to be able to reply until now.

  13. This is so pretty! Love the soft pretty colors. Thanks for joining us at Whimsical Twist:)

    • Ashley,
      Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and leaving such a sweet and thoughtful comment! I really loved the inspiration at Whimsical Twist and was so happy that all the elements worked so nicely together!
      I hope you have a wonderful day!
      Ruth

  14. What a beautiful layout! Loving all the colors and elements! Thanks for joining us at SOS!

    • Carol,
      Thanks so much for visiting and commenting on my LO! I’m glad you like the colors, I certainly loved how nicely everything worked for the challenges!
      Thanks for all the support and inspiration you give at SOS! I’ll definitely be keeping an eye out for other challenges there!
      I hope you have a fantastic day!
      Ruth

  15. awesome layout Ruth! i love that sketch.

    • Theresa,
      Thanks so much for leaving some love and for all the support you give! I really feel unworthy sometimes of how nice everyone is over at Scrappin-n-Chattin! But you ladies always make me feel right at home!
      I hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend and I hope you have a fantastic week!

  16. Joefil E. Cate said:

    Awesome layout Ruth! love the details and the banner! Thank you so much for playing along at Scrap our Stash!

    • Joefil,
      Thanks so much for coming by and leaving such a kind and thoughtful comment for my LO! I really do get into the details and that is the fun for me with these challenges! I love that I was able to get these photos scrapped and that I got to use so many different items from my stash!
      Thanks for all the encouragement and inspiration you provide at Scrap Our Stash!
      I hope you have an awesome day!
      Ruth
      P.S. I apologize that it took me so long to reply. It was a very busy week of taking care of my family. I’m glad to be able to get back to all the sweet comments left on my blog now that things are calmer!

  17. Very pretty page Ruth! Very nice use of your diecuts and take on the sketch! Thank you joining us at Scrap Our Stash and S4All!!!

    • Brenda,
      Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving such a sweet comment for my LO! I just love Scrap Our Stash and am so happy to have found S4A! I just love the feeling when I use my stash and the sketches really help me to do that since my brain starts to immediately think about what I have waiting for it’s day to shine!
      Thanks so much for all you do at all the challenge sites! Your inspiration and support mean a lot! (and I’m sorry I didn’t get back to you sooner, it’s been a busy week with my son getting some oral surgery and all the preparation and aftermath of that – coming to a LO near you soon! 😉
      I hope you have a fantastic day!
      Ruth

  18. Very beautiful page! love the diecuts, and your take on the inspiration mood board! A sweet layout indeed! 🙂

    • Thanks so much for visiting and commenting on my LO! I really loved the inspiration and was so happy that everything came together so nicely! I couldn’t be happier about getting these photos documented, too!
      I hope you have a wonderful day! I can’t wait to see what the next challenge will be at Whimsical Twist!
      Ruth

  19. Love your page
    the sketch you choose is so wonderful too (love sketches LOL)
    tks for playing with us at SOS
    xx
    Leila

    • Leila,

      Thanks so much for visiting and leaving such a sweet comment for my LO! I really loved having the inspiration that the challenge provided and am so happy that I have these memories documented!
      Thanks for all you do to support and inspire at SOS! It feels so good to use up all the wonderful supplies in my stash!
      I hope you have a wonderful day!
      Ruth

  20. This is fabulous!!! I love the banner you made across the middle, and the embellishments are perfect!!! Thanks for joining us at Whimsical Twist!
    Lisa

    • Lisa,
      Thanks so much for coming by and leaving such a nice comment about my LO! I really loved having the inspiration and am very happy to have those memories documented! I will be keeping my eye on Whimsical Twist and look forward to the next challenge!
      I hope you have a fabulous day!
      Ruth

  21. This is a really cute layout! Love your design and elements you used! Thanks for playing along with SOS!
    e.

    • Elizabeth,

      Thanks so much for coming by and leaving such a kind and thoughtful comment about my LO! I really enjoyed all the inspiration from the challenge and am so happy to have these summer pictures documented! I hope you enjoy your day!
      Ruth

  22. Such a sweet page! Great title work, love how you pull out the colors from our inspiration photo. You did an amazing job and those sun shape embellishments are perfect for your page, you created great visual triangle too! Thanks for playing with us at SSIB!

    • Thanks so much for visiting my blog and leaving such a kind sand thoughtful comment! I really loved the inspiration photo and was so glad that I had a collection that fit so perfectly with the theme and colors! I had thought about the sunniness of the shapes, too, but was mostly focusing on the award idea! Thanks for pointing the sun shapes out!
      Thanks for all the support and inspiration you provide at SSIB!
      Have a wonderful day!
      Ruth

  23. Love your page Ruth! Such beautiful elements and design. Thanks for playing along with us at SOS. xx

    • Kerry,

      Thanks so much for visiting my blog and commenting on my LO! I really am so happy that I got to scrap these photos together! The challenge was wonderful inspiration! Thanks so much for all your support and inspiration at SOS! Have a wonderful day!
      Ruth

  24. Super sweet layout! I love your take on the sketch!

    • Leigh,
      Thanks so much for visiting my blog and leaving such a nice comment about my Summertime Ribbonista LO! I know you are a busy lady so it means a lot that you came by and took the time to make my day a little brighter!
      Thanks again,
      Ruth Gauss

  25. Love the way you tied all the patterns together. Thank you for playing at SSIB

    • Lyne,
      Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving such a nice comment! I love when things all work together to make a nice LO documenting our lives – telling stories I hadn’t really thought of, but am glad to be telling! I’m so thankful for all the support and inspiration you provide at SSIB!
      I hope you have a great day!
      Ruth

  26. This is so much fun! I love your overlay of the frame and letting the photo hang out the sides…and that is the coolest banner, love the gradation of colors!! Thanks for playing with us at Scrap Our Stash!

    • Jenni,
      Thanks so much for such a very thoughtful comment on my LO! I really appreciate you taking the time to come by and leave such sweet comments! I really thought the sketch was wonderful and was so glad I got to scrap these pictures of my daughter’s summer activities!
      Thanks for all you do for Scrap Our Stash!
      I hope you have a great day!
      Ruth

  27. I just adore. How you used our inspiration piece for your title! Thanks for playing along at Scrapstuffz!

    • Melissa,
      Thanks so much for coming by and leaving such a nice comment for my LO! I really did love the photo and the chairs and the colors and was so very happy that it inspired the title ribbons! I love how it all came together!
      Thanks for all you do at Scrapstuffz!
      Have a wonderful day!
      Ruth

  28. Pretty layout! Thanks for playing along with us at SSIB!

    • Thanks so much Stacia for all you do and for taking the time to come by and comment on my LO! I really loved the inspiration photo and was so glad that my supplies had the right colors and shades and that I could make the title my own tribute to those wonderful chairs!
      I hope you have a fantastic day!
      Ruth

  29. Laura Mooney said:

    I absolutely love your take on the Inspired By photo! That title is awesome! I love Becky sketches too and that is a great one! Thanks for playing with SSIB, come again next month!

    • Laura,
      Thanks so much for visiting my blog and leaving such a sweet comment about my LO! I really loved the inspiration photo and found myself thinking about the colors and the way the chairs were arranged and the vertical wood pieces and it just hit me to make a long, “ribbony” border with the word on it! I love when that happens! So thanks again for sharing in my joy and for all you do at SSIB! I will definitely keep my eye on the challenges there!
      Have a great day!

      Ruth

  30. Just beautiful. Love the colours you pulled from our Inspired By photo! Just perfectly suites your photos. So soft and welcoming. Thanks for playing with SSIB!

    • Thanks so much for visiting my blog and leaving such a kind and thoughtful comment for my LO! I really loved the colors in the photo and was so happy to have a great way to work with them!
      Thanks for all you do at SSIB!
      I hope you have a fantastic day!
      Ruth

  31. that is beautiful! I love the banners! Thank you for playing along at Scrap our Stash!

    • Dulce, thank you for coming by and leaving a sweet comment! I really appreciate all you do for Scrap our Stash and of course, I’m so happy to be using my stash! It’s got some awesome stuff still waiting to be set free!
      I hope you have a wonderful day!
      Ruth

  32. Steffanie S said:

    Great details in your layout. Nice use of colors from our inspiration image. Thanks for playing along with us at Scrapstuffz!

    • Thanks, Steffanie! What a great inspiration photo you had and it really was so nice to use those lovely colors!
      Have a wonderful day!

      Ruth

  33. This is really stunning. I feel like watercolors in the banner has an almost ombré effect. Your details are lively and support your photos. I’m so glad you found inspiration at Inspired By challenges.

    • Thanks so much for stopping in and leaving such sweet and thoughtful comments about my LO! I really was inspired by the lovely colors in the inspiration photo and was happy that I could create the kind of calm that the photo portrayed with my ribbons!
      Thanks so much for your support and inspiration at Inspired by!
      I hope you have a wonderful week!
      Ruth

  34. super cute layout! love the elements you used! Thanks for playing with Scrap Our Stash!

    • Rochelle,
      Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving such a sweet comment for my LO! I am so glad for the inspiration and motivation that Scrap Our Stash provides! I really appreciate all the support and inspiration that you personally provide! Thanks so much!
      Have a great week!

      Ruth

  35. How happy am I to have stumbled upon your blog through the MME blog. Congrats on winning the challenge. I’m sure you’re in for a FABULOUS prize from them. Also thanks so much for stopping by my blog from time to time and leaving such encouraging comments. I’ve tried to find you through your signature, but only end up at a blog that hasn’t been updated recently. I am sorry for all the health troubles you have had to endure, last I read you were the happy recipient of a very cool piece of hardware that was making your life a little easier. How wonderful for you. Anyhow, congrats again on the MME win!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

