Scrapbooking as much as possible, but sometimes getting distracted by birthdays and life!

Hi! I hope life is treating you well! It’s my day to share a project over at the Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons blog and I decided I would share some wintery fun.

I loved the Wintery Scene Lisa just released and needed to create a layout with it! Yep, it was irresistible! I had to do it! So, I went digging through my pictures and found some great images that I thought would be perfect!

WW_full

I couldn’t resist adding the igloo from Winter Critters to go with the huskies and the title Winter Wonderland seemed absolutely the perfect fit for my story! Where else can you have sled dogs racing around for all sorts of awestruck visitors than in the winter wonderland of the Morton Arboretum?! 

I created all the colored papers with Distress Inks and stains and the white is created using Mister Huey’s and Glimmer Mist – I have to admit, I struggled to get a middle tone for the Tumbled Glass – it looked more distinct when I was creating it than it does in the final igloo. I was inspired to get inky by all the wonderful shades of blue in the renderings of the cut files along with the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge – Inky Background.

Here are some close-ups of the different cuts:

WW_igloo_det

I used a bit of Wink of Stella to highlight some of the areas on the cuts. I love the shimmery, icy look it gave!

WW_date_det

 

Some shimmer of Glimmer Mist, a little embossing and a sequin = happiness. 

WW_tree_det

WW_Title_det

I just love the title and used the Wink of Stella at the tops of the Wonderland letters to give it a little “pop”. It was fun to see things come to life with the addition of that shimmer.

So, I really felt this image from Paper Issues Pinspire me Monday was perfect with my snowy page:

Gloves, snowflakes, wintery animals, January – all there!

Then there’s StuckonUSketches Die Cut Challenge – Snow, check!

Rochelle Spears has a fun Tic Tac Toe Challenge and I did the top line across: Sequin, 2+ photos and die cut

And let’s not forget Lasting Memories January Challenge #224 – captured moments – January moments, captured and preserved! ETA: Thanks to my friend Tina for letting my know I’d been featured for this layout at Lasting Memories!

Lasting Memories

ETA : Linking up with the Paper Issues “Say it isn’t Snow Cold Outside” challenge.

Thanks so much for stopping by today! Do you have special things that you’ve gotten to do to help you get out and enjoy the outdoors in winter? I’d love to hear about them or anything else you’d like to comment about!

Have a wonderful day!

Ruth

Other supplies not listed above: cardstock – Bazzill; sequins – Doodlebug; die cuts – We R Memory Keepers, Paper Smooches; embossing folder – Darice; adhesive – ScrapPerfect, Xyron, Zig.

 

 

 

Comments on: "Pretty Papers, Pretty Ribbon, Pretty much enjoying scrapbooking!" (17)

  1. LOVE this. What a fun tie to document. You did an amazing job of showcasing some great cut files. Love the created background paper. love the dimension and detail of this perfect winter layout.

  2. That igloo is too cute! Love the background! 🙂

  3. Barbara Greenberg said:

    Great layout Ruth and you are right that is a great winter scene. I see you are scrapping some older pictures, isn’t that fun to get those done too.

  4. michellezerull said:

    Wonderful layout, Ruth! The textures are awesome. So fun! Thanks for sharing your page with us this week for the Simon Says Stamp Monday Challenge.
    ~Michelle
    http://www.michellezerull.blogspot.com

  5. Love that wintery page! You did a fantastic job with those cuts and what fun memories to capture! Thanks for joining us at Lasting Memories!

  6. You have so many beautiful details, love the title and igloo! Thanks for joining us at LM

  7. tinacampbell said:

    Beautiful layout Ruth and congrats or making Monday’s feature over at Lasting Memories 🙂

  8. So pretty and love the “cold” feeling. So many interesting elements. I love the snowflake embossing. Definitely need to use embossing more on my layouts. Thanks for joining us at Lasting Memories.

  9. Beatrice Lawson said:

    The sparkle and shimmer and the igloo are such wonderful details on your lovely winter layout. Thanks for playing along with us at Lasting Memories!

  10. Paper Issues said:

    What a great LO – love all the details! Thank you for linking up to Paper Issues current Link Party, “Say it Ain’t Snow Cold Outside!”

  11. What a wonderful Winter layout!!! Thanks for linking it up to SOUS’s Snow Die-Cut Challenge!

  12. Leah Schaeffer said:

    Hi my buddy!
    Really like this page! The details are simply wonderful as
    are all the “homemade” details…like your own distress and wink of stella
    backgrounds, etc.
    This is awesome! Thank you SO much for sharing this with us!

    Hugs!!!!!

  13. AHH! How sweet is this page!! Thanks for playing along with us at SOUS!

  14. Great winter scene & layout! Thanks for playing along at SOUS!!

  15. Wow! What a wonderful layout! I love love love the die cuts 🙂 Thank You for sharing with us at SOUS Die Cut challenge. Hope to see you playing with our new challenge again this week!

  16. Love the story and i think I need to get that Wink of Stella. I love the shimmer it brought to your page!
    Andrea Jones
    LMDT

  17. rochellespears said:

    Gorgeous layout! I love all the details! Thanks for playing along with my tic-tac-toe challenge! 🙂

Leave a comment